cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XC10 Cfast error

mikebmiller
Contributor

Hello. I just purchased a used XC10. I bought a new Cfast card - SP Cinema PRO Cfast 2.0 256 GB - from Amazon. When I try to initialize the card I get a message saying "process terminated with error." Is that card not compatible with this camera for some reason or could I have a bad card. I have never used cfast cards before in any of my other cameras.

Thanks for any help.

11 REPLIES 11

Nick2020
Product Expert
Product Expert

Hi mikebmiller,

Thanks for checking in with us.

We aren't able to test every memory card on the market, but in theory your XC10 should be able to work with any reliable Cfast 2.0 card. Check to make sure that the card is firmly seated in the slot and that the memory card door is fully shut.

It might also help to see if you have the latest firmware, which is 1.0.3.0. You can find the latest firmware update for your camera by going to www.canoneos.com.

On the new page that loads, click on DRIVERS & DOWNLOADS link on the top right. Enter your camera model in the prompt, select it from the options that load under the box, and then press the GET DRIVERS & DOWNLOADS button.

Click the FIRMWARE heading, select the firmware appropriate for your operating system, then follow the on-screen instructions for downloading.

After you've downloaded the file, you'll want to extract it. On a PC, you'll want to right-click the file and select EXTRACT. On a Mac, it will give you a file that looks like a white drive. Double click it and drag the .fim file inside onto your desktop.

The extracted folder will include instructions on how to do the update, but let us know if you run into issues with the installation.

Nick - 

Thanks a bunch. I did the firmware update, but no luck. I guess I need to try another card.

Has anyone tried one of these?

2.JPG

Looks like a great way to get around the high cost of Cfast cards.