cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vixia HF G30

HammerDownProd
Contributor

Im thinking of purchasing the new HF G30 for an upstart offroad and racing youtube page.  I would like to have the same clarity and picture as the 7D but with out the weight.  I like the bigger sensor in the G30 than the XA10 but i love the idea of the handle/grip that comes with the XA10.  As far as i can tell the prices of those two cameras are fairly close so which one is the better value for function?  I really need some help on this one before I drop that kinda cash on a new camera.  Thanks in advance.

13 REPLIES 13

I've had the G30 for a week or so, and can give you my impression so far.  Unfortunately, I'm disappointed.  I'm a hobbyist, not a pro, so I never thought I had the most critical eye.  But, there is a significant and noticeable vignette effect when zooming in to full telephoto.  About the last 10% of the zoom begins to have noticeable darkening around the edges.  At full zoom, it leaves a "hot-spot" in the center.  This shows up on the recorded video.  I've tried disabling image stabilization, removing the UV filter, removing the lens hood, and setting it to full automatic.  Nothing helps.  It's distracting enough so that I'm sending the camera back for an exchange, though I have a gut feeling they may all be like this.  For $1700, it's just not acceptable.

In addition, the recorded video is quite dark in my opinion, even in full daylight.  I had to set the assignable buttons to raise the exposure +.5 or +.75, which really should be used on all outdoor shots I've tried it with.  That has to be done every time I turn the camera on, there is no way I found to make it a permanent setting.