Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎07-15-2015
Accepted Solution

Does XF400 shoot 1080P at 4:2:2 and 4K at 4:2:0?

The manual only lists 4:2:0 while the Canon product page says there is an "OR" option suggesting both.

 

If yes, are these defaulted to by resolution or is there a compression option?

Product Expert
Product Expert
Posts: 801
Registered: ‎10-17-2012

Re: Does XF400 shoot 1080P at 4:2:2 and 4K at 4:2:0?

NickMDal, 

When the XF400 is set to External Recording inside the menu, several options will become available for output only.  It is here that options for 4K 4:2:2 8 bit 59.94 and 4K 4:2:0 8 bit 29.97 exist.  1920x1080 output settings for both frame rates is 4:2:2.  

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎07-15-2015

Re: Does XF400 shoot 1080P at 4:2:2 and 4K at 4:2:0?

Thanks for the answer.  For 1080p output to HDMI only, does the recorder have to create a file using the ProRes or DNxHR codec?

 

I'm guessing that none of the Canon formats (raw, xf-avc) can be produced since there is no Canon hardware on the receiving end.

Product Expert
Product Expert
Posts: 801
Registered: ‎10-17-2012

Re: Does XF400 shoot 1080P at 4:2:2 and 4K at 4:2:0?

NickMDal, 

 

The type of file created by the recorder will be dependent on the output and your specific workflow needs.  So you will want to have this set in a manner which fits your output requirements.  

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎07-15-2015

Re: Does XF400 shoot 1080P at 4:2:2 and 4K at 4:2:0?

Thank you for helping.  I would greatly appreciate just a little more clarification.

 

Since this camera does not shot in log, I am wondering what the HDMI output will look like with regard to special scene modes.  There is no option for a standard mode.  I am thinking of using 3rd party LUTs to improve the color.  What is the HDMI output like?  It isn't raw.  Is it like a 'standard' or 'faithful' scene mode?

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement