cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon HG10 camcorder internal battery

guitarpicker7
Contributor

Hello!

I'm a Newbie here and I LOVE my Canon HG10 HDD camcorders!

I  have been using them for about 12-15 years (I'm old and don't remember exactly when I started) recording just about anywhere I can get permission...

3 of them have internal battery issues (the rechargable lithiums that keep the settings and the clock alive are dead)

4 appeals to Canon service brought no response.

I'm really getting tired of wasting 20 minutes of setup time poking buttons to input my preferences! 

I'm an experienced tech and not afraid to open up my stuff (I upgraded the HDD in 2 of my HGs = EZ2Do), but I learned the hard way, a long time ago, having some direction beforehand is a good thing.

Thoughts and suggestions are appreciated!

Thank You!  Stay Safe!  Stop inhaling... 😉 

-charley, lower left corner of OHIO

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

Not sure what to say, unfortunately.  Those units were released around 13 years ago, so not surprising that the internal batteries will no longer hold any charge.   I cannot speak for Canon, but there may be some limit as to what electronics they will still be able to service.  Limit as in x number of years after a particular model is released.

--
Ricky

Camera: EOS 5D IV, EF 50mm f/1.2L, EF 135mm f/2L
Lighting: Profoto Lights & Modifiers

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

rs-eos
Elite
Elite

Not sure what to say, unfortunately.  Those units were released around 13 years ago, so not surprising that the internal batteries will no longer hold any charge.   I cannot speak for Canon, but there may be some limit as to what electronics they will still be able to service.  Limit as in x number of years after a particular model is released.

--
Ricky

Thank you!

In my original post, I didn't do the arithmetic right = I should have said about 15 years!

I am sure you are right!