cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon HFG20 blue bluish tint

vickie_v
Apprentice

I've had my camera for a few years, I shoot youtube videos in the same space every time.
Lately some of the videos have a blue cast tint to them.

It doesn't happen consitently only on some videos.

All videos are shot in the exact same environment.

The first time it happened, I turned it off and back on and it was back to normal.

Is there a explination for this, or is the camera just going bad?

Is it something that needs to be repaired? If so, is it worth fixing?

Is there anything I can try, it seems unlikey to be any of the settings as I have been shooting the same videos for years (approx 3-4 years with this camera)

thanks

10 REPLIES 10

BurnUnit
Whiz
Whiz

How are you setting your white balance? Are you shooting with some new lighting equipment?

no I have not changing settings...unless I did it inadvertently...the lighting everything is the same...and it's not on every video just sometimes.

If something is going on the camera, what would it be?

But are you using Custom White Balance, Auto White Balance or one of the preset W/B settings?

Hi Vickie_v,

I mentioned "gain" in error.

The setting that would have been changed is the "white balance" setting.  This is a setting that would be difficult to accidentally change, and since the effect doesn't occur with every movie you shoot, you'd have to be changing it back and forth.

Since the type and amount of light is consistent, from shot to shot, the only thing that may change is your subject and scene. When you take your shots, does the color, texture or reflectivity of your scene or subject change?

Also, when this effect occurs, do you see it in the viewfinder or display, as you're shooting?

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.

it looked blue in the view finder.