cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Canon HF G50 Custom Pictures question

vstrglv
Contributor

Hi to everybody! I am newbie here. There is a question about Canon’s HF G50 Custom Picture (CP) function.

I have recorded three footages:

1. Auto mode.

1. P mode, CP-OFF, Looks-default settings.
  2. P mode, CP1 - default settings.

First and second look very similar, but third looks lighter and less contrast. Is it possible to tune CP to default Looks.

Thank you  in advance. 

10 REPLIES 10

Nick2020
Product Expert
Product Expert

Hi vstrglv,

Thanks for checking in with us.

You may wish to check our Knowledge Base to see if you can find suggestions that might help:

https://support.usa.canon.com/kb

Beyond that, we aren't able to provide forum support for your camcorder, so if you need additional assistance, you may wish to contact our phone support line by calling us at (800)652-2666 on M-F from 9am-7pm EST and then select the camcorder department.

Thank you for reply!

Unfortunately I have not found usefull  info in Knowledge Base, but a phone calling is difficult for me because of an English knowledge. So my question is what are The Picture Styles:

1. P mode, CP-OFF, Looks-default settings. and
  2. P mode, CP1 - default settings.   

in Canon HF G50.

Thank you in advance.

Interesting that the image characteristics of the default 'Normal' picture profiles in CP and Looks are different - they are both BT.709.

Watched a video comparing the picture profiles on an XF400 and the Wide DR profile in CP (preset CP2) was definitely a bit sharper than that in 'Looks', at default 'image settings':

https://youtu.be/rB6HnyGcqx8