cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

EOS Rebel SL3 Flash Cord Question

kaylacywinski
Apprentice

Hi there,

I am a food photographer looking to dive into artificial lighting. I have a canon rebel sl3 which I found out is incompatible for any 3rd party flashes. I wanted to purchase the Godox AD200Pro to use as my speed lite, but it comes with a wireless trigger that I am unsure if it will work with my camera. I believe I can connect it with a cord, but I don't know which cord. Can you please point me in the right direction? Thank you!

6 REPLIES 6

amfoto1
Authority

Hi,

I know the hotshoes on the SL3 and a couple other recent Canon models are slightly different from earlier cameras. They omitted the center pin from the hotshoe. Otherwise it's the same and it is still compatible with a lot of flashes.

I just checked at B&H Photo (because their website's search and filtering tools work so well, feel free to buy wherever you wish)... They show 60 different flashes compatible with the SL3. And 17 of them are Godox... But NOT the AD200Pro model you mention. That appears to be essentially a very compact, portable, low powered "studio strobe"... not a "flash", per se. There are a three ways to trigger a strobe like this: a sync cord (wired), radio (wireless), optical (fires when light from another flash or strobe goes off nearby).

I don't believe the SL3 has a PC sync socket to accommodate a sync cord. An alternative that works with many cameras is an adapter attaching a sync cord via the hotshoe. BUT, I think this only works when the hotshoe has that center contact pin, which the SL3 lacks.

Wireless triggering with radio or optically can be simple or complex. Simple optical triggering is where the off-camera lighting gear has a sensor that causes it to fire whenever another flash is fired nearby. Simple radio triggering is similar, except that a radio signal has to be emitted somehow to trip the off-camera flash or strobe.