Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-16-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

Sherry Lowrey you are a genius I have been trying to set up wireless printing on and off for yonks and I took 2 seconds after reading your post.😀👍🏻👍🏻

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-19-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

These instructions worked perfect. I am using the MX490 series Canon printer.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-18-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

When its asking for "Press and Hold the WPS Button", press the button STOP (There is red color upside down triangle inside the circle symbol). Now you will see the "STANDARD SETUP, WPS and OTHER SETUP. Here you can press STANDARD SETUP. Now it will show you your wifi network name. Select your wifi network name and the select the Password. If you press OK button after showing the grids, it will show you alpha numerical key pad. you can type your wifi password, it will set all automatically and your printer will be ready for print. 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-23-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

Excellent!!! Worked for me too!!
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-23-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

Ooops, spoke too soon.  Still not working!  :-(

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-23-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

I tried that too... typed in the Router Pwd and still won't print.  At least it shows in the printer lineup on the control panel ... for whatever that's worth.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-24-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

Hello all,

 

I just bought a Canon MX925 (same than MX920).

 

I tried to setup the printer in all possible options but still does not work.

 

I tried the WPS, normal and advance setup.

 

I can see the printer on the router Zyxel P-2812HNU-F1 but when i install the Cannon program and drivers, it cannot find the printer.

 

I am running windows 7 64 bits. 

 

I am wondering if some of the firewall settings of windows might be blocking the installation?

 

Any comments or suggestions welcome!

 

Thanks in advance

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-01-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

Have just spent an hour trying to set up my new MG6660 numerous times, getting stuck on "hold down the WPS button" part which I took to be the blue light on the printer. So I have been repeatedly holding down this light till the **bleep** thing timed out and I started all over again.

 

After some googling I got to the Canon Community site, where I found the WPS button is supposed to be on my router. My router does not have a WPS button. Apparently if your router does have one, you have to hold this down while you perform operations on the printer. As my router is distant from my printer and PC, and I don't have six foot long arms, I can see this will be rather difficult. Anyway, my router does not have a WPS button, so I'm still stuck.

 

I have had Canon printers for 15 years, and have always found them reliable and easy to use. In fact, i have been recommending Canon to other people. No more.

 

I am going to read all the messages on the Canon Community once again and try to figger this out. If I can't, I'm going to dump the printer and buy one of a different brand.

 

One with proper instructions.

 

VERY DISAPPOINTED, CANON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-18-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

When its asking for "Press and Hold the WPS Button", press the button STOP (There is red color upside down triangle inside the circle symbol). Now you will see the "STANDARD SETUP, WPS and OTHER SETUP. Here you can press STANDARD SETUP. Now it will show you your wifi network name. Select your wifi network name and the select the Password. If you press OK button after showing the grids, it will show you alpha numerical key pad. you can type your wifi password, it will set all automatically and your printer will be ready for print. 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-01-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

Thanks Ruxcad. I have managed to set the printer up via the USB, and will stick with that for now.

 

It amazes me that Canon customers have to go through these shennigans to compensate for poor instructions by Canon in the first place. I see that customers have been having this sort of problem with Canon printers since at least 2012, and that Canon still has done nothing about the poor instructions as each new model comes out.

 

Sure doesn's make me inclined to recommend Canon in future.


ruxcad wrote:

When its asking for "Press and Hold the WPS Button", press the button STOP (There is red color upside down triangle inside the circle symbol). Now you will see the "STANDARD SETUP, WPS and OTHER SETUP. Here you can press STANDARD SETUP. Now it will show you your wifi network name. Select your wifi network name and the select the Password. If you press OK button after showing the grids, it will show you alpha numerical key pad. you can type your wifi password, it will set all automatically and your printer will be ready for print. 


 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement