Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-10-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

Thank you verena techie. I made an account here just to thank you for your help. You saved me so much time and stress.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-04-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

You are welcome.

Sherry
scm
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-30-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

You are a ROCK STAR!

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

THANK YOU aceaceace AND everyone else who left comments on this page! I was ready to scream and pull my hair out trying to connect my new Canon Pixma MG5620 printer to my home's WiFi network!!! I'm glad to know I was not alone in finding the instructions ABSURD and HARD TO UNDERSTAND! But I followed your guide above, and my printer then told me I had successfully connected to my home's WiFi network. Then I tried to print. FAILURE! I ended up just plugging in a printer cable directly to my laptop. I'm SO GLAD I paid for a printer with a WiFi connection that doesn't seem to work! I'm short on time today, but when I have more time, I will call customer support. Canon instructions suck! They really need to hire better technical writers.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-13-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

@sherrylowey,  I to have regestered just so I can thank you for this...  

 

Unclear, innaccurate, incomplete and useless technical document writing is epidemic, but I believe Canon may take the cake in these regards... 

 

(And it doesn't seem that thay are paying much if any attention to all the feedback about it in these forums, either...)

 

Kind regards...

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-07-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

I registered just to help others with my experience on a pixma MG7520. To connect to wifi:

 

- Tap Setup

- Tap device settings

- Tap LAN settings

- Tap Wireless LAN Setup

- Tap "To other connection methods"

- Tap Standard setup

 

After that you will see a list of available wireless networks. Select yours, proceed to connect the American way.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-20-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

Hello everyone, I'm not sure if this topic is still valid or people are still struggling getting their printer to work. Directions work for the Canon PIXMA MG 3222 - perhaps it will work on other models. Here are the directions to get it working. 1) download and install any drivers that are needed or if you're just moving this printer to the new network or router proceed with number two. 2) make sure the printer is on and the display says "1" 3) Press and hold down the tool icon which is displayed with a pair of pliers and a screwdriver. The screen should have a flashing line on the bottom of the display. 4) now go to your router and hold down the WPS or the connection button until it's flashing. This button they have different names depending on the model of the router but you should be able to find it. 5) now go to your printer and pressed the fit to page button, you can hold it down for a few seconds and then let up. All you have to do now is just wait for the display to change, the line will go to the top of the screen while it searching for the router and then you will see three lines sending to the top of the screen. 6) you should now be in good shape. Tested document, it should print fine. Please note: that this is for the Canon PIXMA MG 3222. This is the first time I've ever reply to a post. I did so because everyone was having problems. I hope this helps
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-20-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

You should not need any software if you follow these directions above.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-04-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

Jay, you failed to get the main point & problem as to succeeding on getting Canon printers to print:

Most of us are writing here because we either:
1. Do not HAVE a WSP button or
2. Our router is not in "reach" distance or ever in the same room with our Canon

But there is a workaround right on the front of the printer we realized is undocumented but works when pressed (named STOP) to lead the Canon to our wifi and access it to connect
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-17-2015

Re: where is the WPS button?

[ Edited ]

Thanks for these instructions!  Worked on my MG6670 set up.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement