Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-26-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

Thank you SO much for taking the time to post this thorough solution to a problem that was beginning to make me CRAZY!!!! Much appreciated!!!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-21-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

If it was my post, your welcome.  I used to do some technical documentation QA.  Would be nice if Canon had some  documentation QA.

 

What's crazy is: I'm over 50, I got layed off my last position with 200 others, but because I'm over 50 I can't seem to get a job, I get interviews, but because I'm percieved as old and not able to learn new things ... well, if you are over 50 or even over 40 you know what I'm talking about.  It's illegal, but so far no one is doing anything about it.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-26-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

I'm 59 - I understand all too well.....

 

Thanks, again!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-21-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

They forget, our parents generation invented the computer.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-26-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

Thank you so much - you saved me hours of stress - can't believe how appalling their instructions are - the unlabeled STOP button worked first time and it found my WIFI immediately. Thank you so much again.
Product Expert
Posts: 1,919
Registered: ‎10-17-2012

Re: where is the WPS button?

Hi w0350,

 

So we can provide you with instruction for installing your printer wirelessly using the standard installation, please reply with what operating system is on your computer, as well as what model printer you have.

 

If this is a time-sensitive matter, additional support options are available at Contact Us.

 

 

 

 

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-09-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

I GAVE UP....

....Worked days to set up the wireless connection on my new MG3222. Never got it to work correctly... I FINALLY got past the WPS button issue, and got it work wirelessly.  BUT, it did not work correctly.  Talked to a tech and he told me the code indicated my ink cartridges were probably bad...the brand new ones.....In a fevered state,  I replugged in the USB cable and wolla, the ink cartridge issue was no longer showing up..The tech was baffeled..

So, I have resigned myself to use the machine without the hastle of useing it WIFI...it works just fine with the USB cable.. I probably spent 12 to 14 hours all told, trying to get this NEW printer to work as promised....wasted time...

I have to agree, Canon REALLY needs to rewrite the instructions on how to set these printers up WIFI...It does not seem like anyone has the mysterious WPS button on their router...maybe this was somehting that the early routers had..I don't know...

Thats it...I'm done..

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-21-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

Used to work for a company that had no QA, we joked that the customers were the QA department. That company wound up laying off 50% of their employees and another 25% of them quit, that company barely managed to hang on.

 

Then I worked for a company that had a good QA department and QA was part of the document specifications and product design process. The QA was valued and had teeth too, the product could not be released until QA was done, including QA on documentation. That company is still going strong.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-09-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

Obviously, times have changed .....

When you buy something now days, you are pretty much expected to figure it out on your own...owners manuals are non existant, except on line, which I find about 50% usefull and 50% a pain in the .......... On line "help" is usually, not always, folks in some foreign country, doing their best, trying to ek out a living.........

If it doesn't work right, you simply take it back..customer trouble shooting is usually frowned upon  by manufactures.. Fixing something, heaven forbid, just throw it away..THIS IS THE NORM in this day and time...Sad....

PS...I still "fix" things...and then, if I fail, throw it away..

The end..

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-16-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

Just wanted to say a BIG Thankyou, I had got to the point where I wanted to throw the thing out and my son suggested google the problem and see what came up. It was kind of heartening to see so many with the same issue but also annoying that canon haven't been listening. Your post instructions got me through, Thanks a bunch, most grateful!!!
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement