Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-29-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

Sherry, THANKS for your contribution. Maybe canon should take heed and provide clearer instructions. My husband and I worked on the set up of my new mx922 for over one hour. My hubby became frustrated and went to bed, but I couldn't give up. I visited this forum by chance and happily you were able to assist. ."Shame on you canon", I figured out the set up within 5 minutes of reading your post.
Thanks. Again.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-04-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

Lukani, glad you succeeded!
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-09-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

ok...but....the standard wireless installation on the CD REQUIRES the use of the WPS button...which I do not have....am I mussing something here...?

I feel like I must be talking chinese to a spaniard ...


Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-21-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

Read some of the previous posts in this thread. It explains what to do when there is no WPS button. Click the previous button above to see older posts in this thread.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-14-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

I just finished setting up my printer.

When I came to this section, I walked into the other room, pressed the button on my router(I've set up enough wi-fi to know what they were referring to), walked back to the printer and continued the setup.

You usually have 5 minutes or so for the router and new item (printer, computer, phone etc) to mate.

Easy-peasy...

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-09-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

Ughhhhhhhhhhhh.......Is anyone reading my post...!! The install CD does not give me any option other than to use the WPS button....or install it via the traditional "wire" method...I DO NOT HAVE A WPS button....!!!They keep telling me to go back to the install CD and use the aternate install method....The only alternate install method I can find is by useing the USB cable..!!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-21-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

Here is what I did.  Took me over an hour to figure this out, I got stuck looking for that WPS button also. Many new laptops do not have a CD drive to make them thinner and lighter and cheaper,  my new Macbook pro does not have a CD so I downloaded the driver from www.canon.com.  You don't need the CD and you don't need the WPS button if you do the following:

 

On your computer do this.

 

go to www.canon.com | click Support | click the region of the world you live in, if you are in the USA click here http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/support  | on this page you will see a small search bar with a magnefying glass next to it. type the name and model of your printer into the search bar near the top of the web page. I typed in "pixma" for a list of all the pixma's | click search button | you will see a list of printers, find your printer | under the printer listing on this web page - click driver & software |  It will probably autodetect your operating system, if not select your OS | click the driver you want and download and install the driver.   You have to have a driver on each computer for the printer to work.

 

Now go to your Canon printer and do the following. Some printers might be a little different, but they all should have the capability to connect manually to the wireless router, if they are a wireless printer.

 

1) On the front of the printer, press the home button, or whatever button takes you to the Wireless setup button | Press the wireless setup button on the printer (on mine it was the lower left button under the consol screen on the mg5420 pixma printer).  The wireless setup button has the typical icon for wireless, curved lines in the shape of a piece of pie.  Looks like a radar gun from a cartoon.

2) Printer will say searching

3) wait 10 seconds

4) press the STOP button on the printer.    <-- this is the important part on my printer there was a STOP button.  You have to press the STOP button to get to the advanced menu.

5) you will see an advanced button.  Select advanced and press the OK button.

6) it will now find your wireless routers name and probably will find all your neighbors wireless routers too.  If it doesn't show up in the list, then power cycle your wireless router off wait 3 seconds and power it on, then start from step 1 again.

7) select your wireless router name ( also called the SSID) and press OK button on printer.

8) It will ask you to select the security used on this wireless router.  If you don't know just start trying them till you get one that works.  Ours was WPA2 personal (AES). Press OK after selecting the security type.

9) when you select the correct security it will ask you to enter the password on the next screen. enter the password you normally use to connect to your wireless router.
10) Press OK, when done and follow the prompts to get out.

11) your printer is now connected to the wireless router (with no wire)

 

I did the above from memory, so might be just a bit off

 

Back on the computer:

 

1) If you haven't already, go to www.canon.com and download the correct drivers for your pixma printer and your OS and install.  (See above)

2) Print a test page.

3) If it prints | do a happy dance | if not try again, you maybe missed something | if you spend over an hour then something else is wrong, maybe the wireless router needs to be factory reset but don't do that unless you know how to setup the wireless router.

 

I think Canon was trying to make life simple with the WPS button, not realizing that some routers to not have one.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-14-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

Solution:Take the printer back to the store.  I spent oever an hour just setting up the printer after switching the router

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-09-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

I am just about ready to forget the durn burn wifi set up...it's working fine with the USB cable...so I guess it beat me...

Ratts..

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎02-09-2014

Re: where is the WPS button?

Great for a 5420 but the MG 3222 doesnt hae the amenedies...my stop button looks just like the set up button you describe..

there is no screen on my printer and no advanced button...so thanks but will not work with this machine..Ratts...

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement