cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iPad not finding Pixma MG5420 via AirPrint

BinkyM
Contributor
Hi, Canon:

Sooo frustrated. My iPad Air running 8.1.3 (and several previous versions) has never been able to find my MG5420 via AirPrint to print to it. My Network Config Page shows that my Wireless LAN is Enabled; my Connection is Active; the Signal Strength is 100%. When I attempt to print, I'm told, "No AirPrint Printers found."

As a test, I tried using Google Cloud print, and that worked. Problem is that I don't ever need to print via that method.

I have googled the bejesus out of this problem over the months that I've had this problem, and haven't found one iota of useful information. Canon's support page consists of "Turn the printer on, and AirPrint your documents!"

I'd be so grateful for some assistance that I'd cry if paper started spewing from my printer. I'm a disabled vet and bought this printer after scrimping and saving and all it's done is collect dust and I'm bereft.

Oh: I have a Mac and I turned on Printer Sharing via Ethernet for devices using Wifi. That hasn't helped any, either.

Thanks for helping me out with this. I'm ready to rip my hair out by the roots!

Binky
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Ramona
Authority

Hi BinkyM,

You will want to ensure that the Bonjour setting on the printer is enabled.  If the setting is disabled, you will not be able to print via Apple AirPrint.  To ensure the setting is enabled, please follow these steps:

1. Navigate to SETUP from the main screen of the printer.

2. Press the third Function button below the screen to display the SETUP menu.

3. Use the left/right arrows to select DEVICE SETTINGS, then press the OK button.

4. Use the up/down arrows to select LAN SETTINGS, then press the OK button.

5. Use the up/down arrows to select OTHER SETTINGS, then press the OK button.

6. Use the up/down arrows to select BONJOUR SETTINGS, then press the OK button.