Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-18-2017

speedlite won't work with camera display on

I have a Canon 70D. Just bought a Pro Series Digital SLR universal flash.  Flash works great, only if the display on the back of the camera is turned off.  Turn on the display, and speedlite won't fire.  Is there a setting somewhere on the camera to correct this?  I'm pretty new at this. Thanks.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,449
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: speedlite won't work with camera display on


Bluenoser wrote:

I have a Canon 70D. Just bought a Pro Series Digital SLR universal flash.  Flash works great, only if the display on the back of the camera is turned off.  Turn on the display, and speedlite won't fire.  Is there a setting somewhere on the camera to correct this?  I'm pretty new at this. Thanks.


What do you mean by "turn on the display"?  Do you mean Live View?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-18-2017

Re: speedlite won't work with camera display on

Yes. If live view is turned on, the speedlite won't work.

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,981
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: speedlite won't work with camera display on

Does this flash support E-TTL?

 

Otherwise, did you set the camera to manual flash?

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,813
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: speedlite won't work with camera display on


Bluenoser wrote:

I have a Canon 70D. Just bought a Pro Series Digital SLR universal flash.  Flash works great, only if the display on the back of the camera is turned off.  Turn on the display, and speedlite won't fire.  Is there a setting somewhere on the camera to correct this?  I'm pretty new at this. Thanks.


Make sure the camera is in Liveview and not Video mode. Flashes only work for still photos not video.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-08-2017

Re: speedlite won't work with camera display on

Hello - I am having the same problem with my Canon T3i. Did you ever find an answer?

Product Expert
Product Expert
Posts: 520
Registered: ‎10-17-2012

Re: speedlite won't work with camera display on

Hello karenmooney,

In order for Canon and the community at large to provide assistance we would need to know which brand of flash that you are using. The OP indicated they were using a third party flash which may have contributed to its not working properly. If you are not using a Canon EX Series Speedlite, we recommend this as a first line in troubleshooting.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
Valued Contributor
Posts: 324
Registered: ‎12-24-2013

Re: speedlite won't work with camera display on

[ Edited ]

 Non-Canon "speedlites" will not work in Live View.

 

This is because Canon has designed the flash to not fire in Silent Shooting which is the default for Live View. 

 

A Canon brand flash will automatically disable Silent Shooting but a 3rd party flash will not. You will need to go into your 70D menu and manually disable Silent shooting.

 

If you have a Rebel or T6 type camera there will be no option and you will be out of luck. 

 

disable-silent.jpg

  

Mike Sowsun
S110, SL1, 5D Mk III
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement