Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-18-2017

speedlite won't work with camera display on

I have a Canon 70D. Just bought a Pro Series Digital SLR universal flash.  Flash works great, only if the display on the back of the camera is turned off.  Turn on the display, and speedlite won't fire.  Is there a setting somewhere on the camera to correct this?  I'm pretty new at this. Thanks.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,050
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: speedlite won't work with camera display on


Bluenoser wrote:

I have a Canon 70D. Just bought a Pro Series Digital SLR universal flash.  Flash works great, only if the display on the back of the camera is turned off.  Turn on the display, and speedlite won't fire.  Is there a setting somewhere on the camera to correct this?  I'm pretty new at this. Thanks.


What do you mean by "turn on the display"?  Do you mean Live View?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-18-2017

Re: speedlite won't work with camera display on

Yes. If live view is turned on, the speedlite won't work.

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,853
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: speedlite won't work with camera display on

Does this flash support E-TTL?

 

Otherwise, did you set the camera to manual flash?

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,769
Registered: ‎02-26-2015

Re: speedlite won't work with camera display on


Bluenoser wrote:

I have a Canon 70D. Just bought a Pro Series Digital SLR universal flash.  Flash works great, only if the display on the back of the camera is turned off.  Turn on the display, and speedlite won't fire.  Is there a setting somewhere on the camera to correct this?  I'm pretty new at this. Thanks.


Make sure the camera is in Liveview and not Video mode. Flashes only work for still photos not video.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-08-2017

Re: speedlite won't work with camera display on

Hello - I am having the same problem with my Canon T3i. Did you ever find an answer?

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement