Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-17-2013
Accepted Solution

Using my speedlite

Hi,

 

I've just bought a Neewer TT560 speedlite and am using it with my canon 6D. I can't get t to work, and think I am missing something very basic to connect the camera funtioning to the external flash. The speedlite itself is working as it has a test function.

I have mounted the speedlite on my canon hotshoe as per the instructions. What next? Do I need another cable so that on pressing down the shutter the flash works?

On the camera menu, going to flash control - externa flash funtioning setting comes up with the message "incompatible flash or flash's power is turned off". I also have a Yongnuo speedlite and the same happens.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,090
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Using my speedlite

You can't use the on-camera menu system to configure 3rd party flashes (that only works for Canon speedlites). But you can still use the flashes.

If the flash is fully seated in the hot-shoe (make sure you slide it all the way in) then it should trigger when you take a shot. It's a very simple circuit... on the bottom of the flash there's just a center pin and the plate... the plate itself is the "ground". literally if you took a paper clip and conducted it across the foot (metal plate) and center pin... the flash should fire. That's all there is to it (the camera just completes the circuit.)

The camera needs to have a shutter speed set to it's flash sync speed or slower. For the 6D (and this is from memory so don't quote me) I *think* that's 1/160th second.

If you are trying to use the flashes off-camera (not in the hot-shoe) then you need a trigger. There's nothing in the 6D that will cause an off-camera flash to fire.
Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-17-2013

Re: Using my speedlite

Thanks Tim. Well unless I'm being incredibly slow that's what I've been doing (connection to hotshoe) and its not firing. But my doubt is also this, if pressing the shutter should automatically fire the flash, if I was doing a shoot then wanted some images without flash, would my only option be turning off the speedlite? Is there not a camera funtion for choosing or not to fire with the speedlite? Any other reason why it wouldn't be firing? Both camera and speedlite are pretty new and contacts are not worn.

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,735
Registered: ‎02-28-2013

Re: Using my speedlite


mjroberts wrote:

Thanks Tim. Well unless I'm being incredibly slow that's what I've been doing (connection to hotshoe) and its not firing. But my doubt is also this, if pressing the shutter should automatically fire the flash, if I was doing a shoot then wanted some images without flash, would my only option be turning off the speedlite? Is there not a camera funtion for choosing or not to fire with the speedlite? Any other reason why it wouldn't be firing? Both camera and speedlite are pretty new and contacts are not worn.


I can't say I've ever tried to turn off the flash through the menu, but I could imagine there might be an option even with generic flashes.  But even if so, it's going to be a lot quicker to either turn off the flash itself or pull the flash off.

 

I have no experience with Neewer, but my Yongnuo's work fine on the 6D.  Although I rarely use them on-camera, I almost always use a trigger.

 

Only thing I can think of, are you by chance in live view?  Generic flashes and triggers won't work in live view.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-17-2013

Re: Using my speedlite

Many thanks for your reply. Can you suggest a reliable trigger that is not too costly?

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,735
Registered: ‎02-28-2013

Re: Using my speedlite

[ Edited ]

Yup, the Yongnuo RF-602 ($20 a set) or RF603 II ($30 a set).  Highly recommended.

 

I've been using the 602 for years and I think it's a great trigger.  I own a full set of Yongnuo RF-622 triggers, which are eTTL compatible, but I mostly use my 602s because I don't really use eTTL and I like how small and compact the 602s are.

 

I can't speak to the 603 II from personal experience, but it looks like they made some nice changes.  Just make sure if you get the 603 that you don't get the old first version. If I was buying today I'm not sure which I would get - the 602s have a 1/4" thread on the bottom which allows them to screw directly into my light stands.  It's a fantastic feature, I have no idea why they didn't do it to the 603s. This single feature is probably worth more to me than everything I mention below.  Without that thread you have to use a cold shoe, which isn't near as robust as the thread.

 

Also, the 602 transmitter is tiny, which I like, but it has a couple of down sides: 

  • It uses a special battery (CR2), which are expensive, harder to find, and I don't have a recharger for.  They last forever (well over a year of frequent use), but still, it's nice that the 603 II uses all AAA batteries. 
  • There are no locking mechanism on the feet.  It's no problem on the receivers, since I use the 1/4" thread.  But the little tiny transmiter does slip out on occasion.  Tthe 603 II added a lock on the foot so it doesn't slip out. 
  • There's no on/off switch on the transmitter.  If you just toss the transmitter in your pack and something presses up against it, it will wear the battery out.  I built a little case for it for storage.

And one more plus for 603 II.  The off switch on the 602 receiver, and the original 603s, was poorly placed on the top so you couldn't reach it when a flash is mounted.  They finally moved it to the side for the 603 II.  That is actually a nice upgrade that I wish I had.  The other differences above don't bother me much.  Still, if I was to buy today, I'm unsure which I would get.

 

Edit: one more thing I forgot.  The 603 II has a pass-through.  So you can mount a tranceiver on your camera to send out the signal and you can still put a flash (or even another trigger) on top of it.  It's not something I do regularly, but I have had need of this function and was unable to do it with my 602s. 

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-11-2017

Re: Using my speedlite

Hi everyone, reading through this thread since I am trying to use my speed light Neewer 561 flash with my Canon t5. I see that I can't adjust the flash from my Canon, which I am fine with adjusting on my flash. The only thing I haven't been able to learn to adjust is the front/rear curtain sync. Any help with that?
Thank you
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-08-2017

Re: Using my speedlite

[ Edited ]

Hello, I am also recently bought Neewer TT560 Flash Speedlite [Mod note: Removed link per FORUM GUIDELINES]. It has great features and great flashes. The main feature is that Gary Fong light sphere doesn’t peck fit on this flash tightly, but it stays well if you manage it or use it. If you have no idea about this camera how to use, then you can read its well-designed box. All the information and settings are given.
Flash buttons and switches also provide. You will see Charging port and PC sync, side of the camera flash.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement