cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Off-camera flash with 80D

Roo
Apprentice

I am new to flash photography. My camera is an 80D and I have a 430EX II. I would like to find a way to fire the flash off-camera without having to fire the camera’s pop-up flash. Any ideas?

10 REPLIES 10

diverhank
Authority

There is no other way without getting a ST-E2-RT transmitter which mounts on the hot shoe.  You can't see the light emitting from it but it's essentially the same as your built-in flash.

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr

Isn't it only the 430-EX III that has RT capability? I was under the impression that optical transmission is the only option with the 430-EX II.

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

@RobertTheFat wrote:

Isn't it only the 430-EX III that has RT capability? I was under the impression that optical transmission is the only option with the 430-EX II.

Yes that's right.  That's why I mentioned the ST-E2-RT not the ST-E3-RT.  The E2 transmits optical info only which the 430 EX II can do.

@diverhank wrote:

@RobertTheFat wrote:

Yes that's right.  That's why I mentioned the ST-E2-RT not the ST-E3-RT.  The E2 transmits optical info only which the 430 EX II can do.

Hmmm,,, I don't find an ST-E2-RT, only an ST-E2. Which actually doesn't surprise me much, because I always thought that RT stands for "radio transmission". Is there a radio-capable version of the ST-E2?

Bob
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

@RobertTheFat wrote:

@diverhank wrote:

@RobertTheFat wrote:

Hmmm,,, I don't find an ST-E2-RT, only an ST-E2. Which actually doesn't surprise me much, because I always thought that RT stands for "radio transmission". Is there a radio-capable version of the ST-E2?

Oh...I see what you're getting at.  I just worked off memory...Sorry...you're correct it's just ST-E2...I guess I don't sweat the minor details that much.

Ah, too bad ... Thank you for your response, though.