Canon Community Canon Community

Highlighted
Roo
New Contributor

Off-camera flash with 80D

I am new to flash photography. My camera is an 80D and I have a 430EX II. I would like to find a way to fire the flash off-camera without having to fire the camera’s pop-up flash. Any ideas?

Reputable Contributor

Re: Off-camera flash with 80D

There is no other way without getting a ST-E2-RT transmitter which mounts on the hot shoe.  You can't see the light emitting from it but it's essentially the same as your built-in flash.

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr
Esteemed Contributor

Isn't it only the 430-EX III that has RT capability? I was under the impression that optical transmission is the only option with the 430-EX II.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Roo
New Contributor

Ah, too bad ... Thank you for your response, though.

One more question: Do you know if the ST-E2-RT transmitter emits a light as bright as the flash?

Reputable Contributor

RobertTheFat wrote:

Isn't it only the 430-EX III that has RT capability? I was under the impression that optical transmission is the only option with the 430-EX II.

Yes that's right.  That's why I mentioned the ST-E2-RT not the ST-E3-RT.  The E2 transmits optical info only which the 430 EX II can do.

Reputable Contributor

Roo wrote:

Ah, too bad ... Thank you for your response, though.

One more question: Do you know if the ST-E2-RT transmitter emits a light as bright as the flash?

As I recalled, you can't see it, at least it's not noticeable as the photographer looking through the viewfinder.

Esteemed Contributor

diverhank wrote:

RobertTheFat wrote:

Yes that's right.  That's why I mentioned the ST-E2-RT not the ST-E3-RT.  The E2 transmits optical info only which the 430 EX II can do.