Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-23-2017

600EX-RT trouble

My 600EX-RT is dumping light on TTL. I've tried turning off modeling selection CF-2 and it is not set to multi. Every time I try to lower the power on TTL...it returns to the middle bar and is dumping too much light. I can set the power to -1, -2, etc...but the minute I press the camera's shutter, it returns to 0 on the +/- rating.

 

Suggestions? 

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,736
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 600EX-RT trouble


KPIX2017 wrote:

My 600EX-RT is dumping light on TTL. I've tried turning off modeling selection CF-2 and it is not set to multi. Every time I try to lower the power on TTL...it returns to the middle bar and is dumping too much light. I can set the power to -1, -2, etc...but the minute I press the camera's shutter, it returns to 0 on the +/- rating.

 

Suggestions? 


That sounds like the result you get when you use a TTL flash on an E-TTL camera. A camera is either TTL or E-TTL, but not both. What camera are you using? Have you tried setting the flash to E-TTL?

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-23-2017

Re: 600EX-RT trouble

Canon5D, Mark iV...has been working fine until last shoot. Is this a setting I need to change on camera? or in flash? or both?

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,736
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: 600EX-RT trouble


KPIX2017 wrote:

Canon5D, Mark iV...has been working fine until last shoot. Is this a setting I need to change on camera? or in flash? or both?


I had thought it would be on the flash, but I just checked my 600EX-RT, and it doesn't have a TTL setting. Make sure it's set to E-TTL, but it looks like that isn't the problem.

 

I don't have a 5D4, but no E-TTL camera that I've ever used has a TTL setting, So make sure it's set to E-TTL as well. If both are and you still get the overexposure, I guess you'll have to Contact Canon Support.

 

With an E-TTL flash, underexposure is much more common than overexposure, in my experience. Apparently that's because the E-TTL algorithm assumes that all flash is fill flash, and concerns itself only with making sure that the highlights are properly exposed.

 

One other possibility: Make sure that you didn't inadvertently turn on flash exposure compensation. That allows you to call for a greater or lesser exposure than the camera's metering would select by default.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement