Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-26-2016
Accepted Solution

how to disable the auto launch in canon EOS utility on my mac?

[ Edited ]

Can someone let me know if you can disable this from auto launching. I would like to use capture one and have the eos utliity on my computer as a backup plan. With the eos utility auto launching it will not allow capture to mount the camera. I tested it on my tower where I don't have the utility and capture works perfectly. So I am thinking it's the auto launch feature or it could just be that eos is installed and that takes priority.

 

I'm using eos utility 2 - 2.14.20.2 with a mark II

my os is Yosemite 10.10.5

 

Thanks in advance for any help

Cheers,

Brad

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,978
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: how to disable the auto launch in canon EOS utility on my mac?

 

If you right click on the EOS Utility icon in the top border of the screen you should be able to select don't start EOS Utility when camera is detected.

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,660
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: how to disable the auto launch in canon EOS utility on my mac?

Go into Image Capture and change the preference to whatever software you want to auto-start.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-26-2016

Re: how to disable the auto launch in canon EOS utility on my mac?

I've tried that and I get no pop up or dilioag box for that option. I am 99% sure I truned this feature on a long time ago too. It's crazy I've searched everywhere. prefs, system prefs, image capture, os backend. Thanks for you help! I got capture one to work with it now but it's anoying to have to quit it and reconect to capture everytime. I'll keep on looking for it today.

Cheers

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,978
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: how to disable the auto launch in canon EOS utility on my mac?

If you are in Image Capture I believe you need to have your device connected. Then at very bottom of left hand side there will be a triangle. Click that and you should be able to select software to be used when IC detects that device. 

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-26-2016

Re: how to disable the auto launch in canon EOS utility on my mac?

I did look at image capture and that was set to none. Strange there has got to be a fix

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,978
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: how to disable the auto launch in canon EOS utility on my mac?

Did you also disable the auto start of EOSU in the icon on the top border?
John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-26-2016

Re: how to disable the auto launch in canon EOS utility on my mac?

can you send me a screen shot of this disable button? I don't see it anywhere. I've clicked on every inch of the start screen. I'm getting a mark III today. so I'll be using the utility 3 now. but I still don't see the icon your speaking about.

thanks for all your help BTW. This is driving me crazy.

 

Screen Shot 2016-11-03 at 11.39.48 AM.png

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,242
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: how to disable the auto launch in canon EOS utility on my mac?

[ Edited ]

bradcarr wrote:

can you send me a screen shot of this disable button? I don't see it anywhere. I've clicked on every inch of the start screen. I'm getting a mark III today. so I'll be using the utility 3 now. but I still don't see the icon your speaking about.

thanks for all your help BTW. This is driving me crazy.


Start up EOS Utility. In the little square window in (usually) the lower right corner of the screen, right-click the EOS Utility icon. Click "Do not launch ...".

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,978
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: how to disable the auto launch in canon EOS utility on my mac?

In the Canon Utilities folder in Applications there would be an EOS Utility folder. In that folder would be an app EOS Utility and a folder EOS Utility 3. If you run the app it gives you the icon on the top menu bar.

 

Screen Shot 2016-11-03 at 1.52.39 PM.jpg

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-11-03 at 1.51.35 PM.jpg

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement