Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,125
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Eos Utility problem

"Given there are only two platforms, ..."

 

Being a beta teater for a couple software companies, I can readily say there are far more issues with Mac's and all their OS's than Windows ever saw.  Add the fact there are far fewer Mac's than Windows makes a bigger statement.  On the other hand , everybody knows and has seen the problems Win machines can display.

To say one is more stable, or better, over the other is futile.

 

As a general rule of thumb a Windows machine is a better buy considering everything.  Price, software availibity and stability.

But it is, MHO and worth every penny you paid for it.

A lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-07-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem

my EOS utility software works on its own, but windows 7 doesn't seem to recognize it. now when i plug in my camera, two things happen: eos utility starts and windows "device stage" starts. previously i used to be able to click on "change program" in the windows box and choose eos utility. now it doesn't give me that option anymore.

 

the two things i changed are that i reinstalled windows, and also i installed the software for my canon point and shoot (canon camerawindow) first. so now i get the option to change to camerawindow, but not eos utility.

 

i'm not sure any of this matters, i guess i don't like the fact that eos utility is yet another process always running in my background.

 

(and i also intend to get a card reader. this may or may not change all of this.)

 

thanks for any help.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-08-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem

Hi, I too now have a problem with EOSUtility on my new Windows 7, 64-bit machine.  

 

It use to work OK (although it never automatically loaded when a camera was attached unlike on my previous WIndows XP machine), but now when a camera is connected to the computer and switched on, EOSUtility only shows the "monitor folder" option, all the other options are greyed out.  If I click on preferences then click on the "Execute" button (starts to download..) it will download from my old EOS 550D although with no folder preferences options.  With my new 70D even this does not work.

 

Has Canon issued, or is it intending to issue a fix fior this apparent compatability problem?

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,735
Registered: ‎02-28-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

This is a long shot, but I would try another cable if you have one laying around.  I had a similar problem once and it actually turned out to be the cable.  I was trying to shoot tethered using some random mini USB cable and it wouldn't allow for remote shooting or any of those other options except one.  Don't remember which it was.

 

I've got piles of mini and micro USB cables laying around, so I never paid much attention to which I grabbed.  But not all cables are made the same.  Just something to keep in mind.

 

As to EOS Utility.  Did you install the new version off the Canon site, or a disc that came with your camera?  I just did a fresh install on my laptop and grabbed EOS from Canon and noticed they did a major revision (ver 3.0).  No idea what the differences are, but it's possible there's a conflict issue with an older camera.  Not that a 550D should be considered an old camera by now, but Canon seems to be into planned obsolescence when it comes to Rebels.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-08-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem

Thanks for the suggestion.  Cable wasn't at fault.  Issue seemingly now resolved by installing latest Canon software.

Thanks again.

Descendeur10

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,935
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem


Skirball wrote:

... 

As to EOS Utility.  Did you install the new version off the Canon site, or a disc that came with your camera?  I just did a fresh install on my laptop and grabbed EOS from Canon and noticed they did a major revision (ver 3.0).  No idea what the differences are, but it's possible there's a conflict issue with an older camera.  Not that a 550D should be considered an old camera by now, but Canon seems to be into planned obsolescence when it comes to Rebels.


EOS Utility Version 3 is intended to work with Version 4 of Digital Photo Professional. But unlike DPP V4, it's downwards compatible with the previous version. How that downwards compatibility is achieved has not been fully explained, but I've seen some evidence that V3 actually calls V2 for all non-FF cameras. (The two versions can co-exist on the same computer.) IMO, the safest thing to do if you're not using DPP V4 is to install only Version 2.1.14 of EOS Utility.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-01-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem

[ Edited ]

I have a EOS Rebel XTi.  I am running WIN 7 Pro 64-bit. I have been using EOS Utility ver. 2.9.0.0 for quite a while.   Today, I keep getting a run-time error that forces me to close the program.  I have made no changes to my system since the last time I used the utility.  I searched for an update and found the 3.0 version, but it says that if I don't have one of the model listed - none of which is mine, it will automatically switch to a 2.xxx version that is older than the one I already have.  I have tried different cables, but the result is the same.  Canon does not even list the XTi on their driver model list.  Should I just install the 3.0 version anyway and just see what happens, or do something else? 

 

Update:  I tried to download ver 3.0 but it would not let me.  When I entered my camera S/N I was told the the serial number I had entered was incorrect or does not belong to an applicable product.  Then I search some more and found Softpedia dot com that was showing ver. 2.14.1.  So, I'm going to try that.  When I saw that version shown earlier in this thread I mis-read it as 2.1.4.1 and thought it was older than my version.  I guess I should read slower - or get new glasses.

 

Update #2:  Downloaded v.2.14.1 - it worked.  Canon does not make it easy to find things like this when you don't have a newer product.  I guess I should not have been surprised, I used to work for Canon, just in a different division.

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,735
Registered: ‎02-28-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

No, version 3.0 is in some sort of "pre-launch", where it's currently only compatible with their full frame cameras.  Not even the new 7d2 works with it, yet.  Canon hasn't indicated when it's going to be updated to work with older models.  Stick with the latest 2.xx version for now.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,935
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem


hubsm wrote:

...

Update:  I tried to download ver 3.0 but it would not let me.  When I entered my camera S/N I was told the the serial number I had entered was incorrect or does not belong to an applicable product.  Then I search some more and found Softpedia dot com that was showing ver. 2.14.1.  So, I'm going to try that.  When I saw that version shown earlier in this thread I mis-read it as 2.1.4.1 and thought it was older than my version.  I guess I should read slower - or get new glasses.

 

Update #2:  Downloaded v.2.14.1 - it worked.  Canon does not make it easy to find things like this when you don't have a newer product.  I guess I should not have been surprised, I used to work for Canon, just in a different division.


That was probably my fault. In my previous note I called it 2.1.14 instead of 2.14.1. Sorry for the confusion.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,935
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem

[ Edited ]

Skirball wrote:

No, version 3.0 is in some sort of "pre-launch", where it's currently only compatible with their full frame cameras.  Not even the new 7d2 works with it, yet.  Canon hasn't indicated when it's going to be updated to work with older models.  Stick with the latest 2.xx version for now.


I sure hope that "yet" is the appropriate word. So far, Canon has said nothing to counter the idea that they consider the new versions of EOSU and DPP to be special perks for FF users only. This is particularly tough for those of us who have both crop and FF cameras, because neither version of DPP tells you whether the other version has edited the image file.

 

EOSU ver. 3 seems OK so far, but ver. 4 of DPP is nowhere near ready for prime time. It has some nice new features though.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement