Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Moderator
Posts: 1,005
Registered: ‎10-23-2012

Re: Eos Utility problem

lehr,

 

If the camera was previously set to the PTP communication mode, Windows may have recognized it when it was connected and allowed you to download the images.  The only thing is that EOS Utility will not communicate with the camera in this mode, but any other image downloading programs in Windows should.

 

If you get a card reader, downloading the images is even more simple.  The card mounts as an external drive.  All you will need to do is drag and drop the images files from the card to the desired folder on your computer's hard drive.

 

This didn't answer your question? Find more help at Contact Us.

 

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-20-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

A card reader isn't a solution at all.

 

The Canon EOS Utility automaticly creates folders by date (of by year\date) when transferring photo's from your camera to your computer. That's the ONLY reason why I use that utility.

 

The reason I had to completely reinstall my computer to get it working again (on exactly the same hardware) says something about the EOS Utility and nothing else.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,931
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

Bart, A card reader is a much faster way to transfer images vs. the USB cable. If you use digital asset management software such as Lightroom, the organization of your images is MUCH easier.

I'm not sure if there would have been another way to fix the problem short of re-installing the OS -- but the fact that you ultimately resorted to that solution AND... it actually worked... says much more about the stability of the operating system than the software.

I've used a LOT of different operating systems and understand computers at very low levels -- Windows is pretty much rock bottom when it comes to reliability. The Windows "registry" is basically a built-in denial of service attack -- no need to wait for malware to screw up the computer. The Mac version doesn't have these problems.

Glad to hear you finally got it sorted.
Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-20-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

OK, why would I pay for a program like Lightroom if the utility that comes with the camera for free does everthing I need it to do? (get a picture from the camera and place it in a subfolder with the 'date taken' as foldername)

 

The fact that I reinstalled my system has nothing to do with me trying to get the EOS Utility working again, it is something I do once or twice every year. Now Windows 8.1 was released so it was a good time to reinstall.

 

The way you describe the Windows Operating System and compare it to a Mac makes it pretty clear you're an Apple fanboy. Sure, Apple is probably a more stable OS but then again it runs only on a handful systems wich are way more expensive than custom build (superior) Intel based machines.. If it wasn't even stable on their own machines it would be really dumb, would it? If Microsoft developed their own computers and build Windows to only support that hardware , it would be just as good as Apple.


So please, stop comparing Windows with Apple and vice versa because it really makes no sense and it's completely off-topic.

 

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,931
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem


Bart_NL wrote:

OK, why would I pay for a program like Lightroom if the utility that comes with the camera for free does everthing I need it to do? (get a picture from the camera and place it in a subfolder with the 'date taken' as foldername)

 

The fact that I reinstalled my system has nothing to do with me trying to get the EOS Utility working again, it is something I do once or twice every year. Now Windows 8.1 was released so it was a good time to reinstall.

 

The way you describe the Windows Operating System and compare it to a Mac makes it pretty clear you're an Apple fanboy. Sure, Apple is probably a more stable OS but then again it runs only on a handful systems wich are way more expensive than custom build (superior) Intel based machines.. If it wasn't even stable on their own machines it would be really dumb, would it? If Microsoft developed their own computers and build Windows to only support that hardware , it would be just as good as Apple.


So please, stop comparing Windows with Apple and vice versa because it really makes no sense and it's completely off-topic.

 


 

Bart,

 

<sigh>

 

Nevermind anything I said about Lightroom.  It was intended to be helpful -- but I'm sensing you posted here as more of a rant and it was my mistake to assume you actually wanted help. 

 

You don't by chance work for Microsoft, do you?  You seem rather sensitive about protecting them.  

 

I made the comment, not about Apple -- but about Windows, because you wrote:

 

"The reason I had to completely reinstall my computer to get it working again (on exactly the same hardware) says something about the EOS Utility and nothing else."

 

That's not really a valid assumption.  Windows has a central "registry" file and that file can become corrupt.  When it becomes corrupt, unpredictable things happen.  Reinstalling an OS can have the effect of restting the registry -- in effect fixing software problems that really had nothing to do with the program that was misbehaving.  Other operating systems do not have this concept of a central registry.  Program preferences and configurations are stored in separate files -- this isolation creates some natural stability.

 

The statement really had very little to do with Apple, but Canon only makes the EOS Utility software for Windows and Mac.  Given there are only two platforms, it would not have made sense to compare it to people who run Ubuntu, now would it?

 

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-20-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

Ok, we've probably misunderstood eachother.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-25-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem: Possible Solution

I own an XTi and run Windows 7 64bit.When I bought this computer, the first thing I installed was my Canon software... and EOS Utility didn't work.

 

After doing just about everything form every website, forum and blog. Uninstalling and reinstalling software multiple times. Praying, cursing, considering changing religions, cursing some more, did the Hokey Pokey and down a few beers...

 

...I think I came across an accidental fix. I have the shortcut on my desktop for EOS Utility. I right clicked on it and selected Properties from the pop-up menu. When the Properties window opened I clicked on the Compatability tab. Windows XP SP1 was selected (??). I clicked on the drop down menu and Selected Windows 7 and clicked Apply at the bottom.

 

I turned on my camera and the windows application popped up asking how I would like to view the files. I clicked on EOS Utility and it launched successfully. Now, I don't know if this was a fluke or a sign from God... now I'm afraid to open it again until tomorrow, but this seemed to work for me.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-06-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem

I have uninstalled the eos utility program and reinstalled it.  The only part of the program I can get to work is the Monitor folder.  I was using an HDMI cable and i could not get anything to recognize.  I swithced to the AB/usb cable and plug in the camera and the cmaera control flashes on the screen and disappears.  I have win8 and in my property manager I don't have a portable device section.  

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-06-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem

I called canon and got the scoop.  The disk that comes with your camera is eos utility, so there is a newer version and you can get the download at www.canoneos.com. The newer version is EOS UTILITY 2.   Select your camera from the list of cameras.  Mine is T3i.  Select drivers and software.  Select your operating system, and then select software.  Select EOS utility 2.14.0 updater for Windows.  Select agree and start download.  Once downloaded select exe and follow the prompts.  Once downloaded there will not be an icon on your desktop.  Select programs and and canon eos utility with a sub menu for eos utility 2.  Good luck and I hope this has helped others out.  

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-19-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem

I have the same problem, and I think it might be related to the patches Microsoft is always forcing onto their Windows 7 environment where they say they are uploading patches and please don't log off.  The EOS utility worked (though not smoothly) before Microsoft put 12 patches on my machine last week.  Then I got exactly what I see on your screen.  I uninstalled and reinstalled the utility, and it does not work.  I still get the same screen you show there.  Has anyone responded?

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement