Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-03-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

I see this issue has been open since November 2012,

and despite being marked as having a 'solutuion',

...... it seems people are still having issues, myself included.

 

Can anyone from Canon tell me if they are committed to fixing this issue, and on what timescale ?

Or is the assumed view that will get tired of asking, and give up ?

 

Sorry if the above sounds a little 'pissed', but I bought my camera to do a specific job, and since upgrading to W8 I cannot do that job.

For myself personally, that's a lot of money down the drain, and I'm not too impressed.

I will be significanlty upgrading my equipment in the near future, and my next choices will be  determined by what I see as 'reliability'.

 

Enough said.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-08-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

[ Edited ]

I had a similar problem. I uninstalled the eu2130en.exe and reinstalled eu2114en.exe (This was the last version which worked for me) - AND...lo! and behold! my system started working again - so the problem is clearly with later versions of the software and nothing to do with 'disabling' drives etc.

 

I do agree with SimonB2013 however that this shouldn't be such a long standing problem with a company such as Canon - come'on Canon - lift your bloody game.

 

Camera - 400D (2006)

OS - Windows 8

EOS Utility Ver - eu2114en.exe

Moderator
Posts: 1,005
Registered: ‎10-23-2012

Re: Eos Utility problem

Hi all!,

 

I notice that many of these cameras are either an EOS 30D or an EOS Rebel XTi.  To be clear on this, there are no known issues with the later versions of EOS Utility and Windows 8.  Due to their age, these models are not supported in Windows 8 and are not supported by the newer versions of EOS Utility.  This is why EOS Utility is not listed for these models and Windows 8.  The version required to work with Windows 8 does not support them.

 

However, I did notice that Bob422 had an EOS 5D Mark II and Windows 7 x64.  What happens when you try to connect to the camera with EOS Utility?  Do you receive any sort of error?

 

If this is a time sensitive-matter, additional support options are available at Contact Us.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-01-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

Mike,

 

No error message. The Utility window opens with only the Monitor Folder lit, the others are dim. When I opened it previously, I would have to power hte camera off and on for the Utility to light all four options and for the downloads to start. Now I cannot get it to light up, only the Monitor Folder is accessible.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-20-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

Still having the EOS Utility issue here with Windows 8 x64 and an EOS 400D camera.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-08-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

Bart_NL, try an earlier version of EOS utility and I think it will help. It has worked for me.
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-08-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

[ Edited ]

Mike, when a newer version of a software does not work with hardware, since when did it become the 'aged' hardware's problem?!!

The fact is that the software is not backward compatible - a basic rule when people release new versions of software is to make sure that it is backward compatible with recent peices of hardware. So, IT IS the problem with newer versions of the software that they are not compatible with older versions of the hardware.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-03-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

Got mine working !!!

 

I've a 400D, on W8 32bit.

 

I'd tried the latest version of Canon Utility before with no luck.

This time:

> Uninstal C Utility

> Reboot

> Install new vsn of Utility (v 2.9.0.0)

> Reboot

> Success

 

Strangely, I'd tried this before, but out of desperation I tried again - who knows ?

 

So in my case, it's not an issue of compatability per se, just Canon's inability to provide decent self-updating functionality.

Or decent instructions, or guidance.

 

Maybe there should be an 'expiry date' on cameras when they are sold, so we will know how long we will be able to use them for before we (the valued customers)  are 'dumped'.

 

 

 

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-20-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

Cool, but do you know where to get "Install new vsn of Utility (v 2.9.0.0)"??

 

The Canon website isn't the most logical one.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-03-2013

Re: Eos Utility problem

Bart_NL ...

 

Well I'm based in the UK, so here was my path the download:

 

>http://www.canon.co.uk/Support/
>Select your product
>EOS Cameras
>EOS 400D
>Downloads
>Software
> !! ***  Windows 8 (English) >> It'sNot In  Here ** !!
>Windows 7 (English) >>  EOS Utility Updater for Windows (2.9.0)

 

.. so even if I'm on W8, it's the W7 download I used.

I guess Canon assume you know this is the right thing to do, or just desperate enough to search and try anything.

 

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement