Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-06-2015

Re: Eos Utility problem

[ Edited ]

Thanks for reading - if one did. Solved the issue here: Got the latest version from Canon.at: "euw2.14.10b-updater", v 1.1.0.3, EOSUtility v 2.14.10b and restarted. Heureka. Canon rulez, they reacted! THX!

EOS 5D Mark II, EOS Utility 2.14.10b
Windows 7&SP1, no other Hotfixes
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-06-2015

Re: Eos Utility problem

Hi again. C. did not solve my problem! Every time, the transmission of RAWs crashes or hangs- as system (interface) overloads - and a BSOD follows or the PC has been restarted, the Utility crashes permanently. Only Windows System Restore sets the SW to the previous working state. (Reinstall fails.) Now I will start the EOSU only after a daily System Restore by a batch. (This is my "work around".) Better ideas welcome....
EOS 5D Mark II, EOS Utility 2.14.10b
Windows 7&SP1, no other Hotfixes
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,935
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem


Kanitfastan wrote:
Hi again. C. did not solve my problem! Every time, the transmission of RAWs crashes or hangs- as system (interface) overloads - and a BSOD follows or the PC has been restarted, the Utility crashes permanently. Only Windows System Restore sets the SW to the previous working state. (Reinstall fails.) Now I will start the EOSU only after a daily System Restore by a batch. (This is my "work around".) Better ideas welcome....

If you're getting a BSOD, there's definitely something amiss. I have both versions of EOSU running with no issues under Windows 7, 8, and 8.1. But I'm a Windows system manager in Real Life, so I keep the computers I use very much up-to-date. Make sure you have the latest version of everything; and if you still have a problem, tell us the exact level you're at, so that we can try to help.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-06-2015

Re: Eos Utility problem

[ Edited ]

THX for reply.
Sorry, for not being exactly in my description. I never saw a BSOD, against that, the sys. has been freezing then.
The behaviour only occurs with EOSU, both versions I had in use, AND concurrently when the hw-interfaces overloaded. (WAN-remote control AND 30Mb via USB(EOSU).
The sys.-freezing is more or less no prob. The problem is only, that the EOSU-software afterwards crashes permanently at start-up with camera control. (As i wrote, I tried everything "usual" fixing. (see above)

 

If that occurs in the future, I will reset the system with Windows System Restore. Then it works again.

 

I do not agree with Microsofts (and yours) strategy, to update permanently. I follow the philosophy: Never change a running system.


I was a network admin, now I am retired. Since my last post I got 38,5GB via EOSUtility. I am avoiding freezing, by not storing to much data simultaneously.
THX for reading.

 

EOS 5D Mark II, EOS Utility 2.14.10b
Windows 7&SP1, no other Hotfixes
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,935
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem


Kanitfastan wrote:

THX for reply.
Sorry, for not being exactly in my description. I never saw a BSOD, against that, the sys. has been freezing then.
The behaviour only occurs with EOSU, both versions I had in use, AND concurrently when the hw-interfaces overloaded. (WAN-remote control AND 30Mb via USB(EOSU).
The sys.-freezing is more or less no prob. The problem is only, that the EOSU-software afterwards crashes permanently at start-up with camera control. (As i wrote, I tried everything "usual" fixing. (see above)

 

If that occurs in the future, I will reset the system with Windows System Restore. Then it works again.

 

I do not agree with Microsofts (and yours) strategy, to update permanently. I follow the philosophy: Never change a running system.


I was a network admin, now I am retired. Since my last post I got 38,5GB via EOSUtility. I am avoiding freezing, by not storing to much data simultaneously.
THX for reading.

 


When you let philosoiphy dictate pracitce, you enter a risky realm. It's a truth whose implications extend far beyond computers and photography.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,125
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: Eos Utility problem

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA

 

You can have this one.  Smiley Frustrated

A lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-15-2015

Re: Eos Utility problem

Thanks Blake, after trawling through dozens of "solutions" yours seems to work and I can now offload my photos. Thank you so much!

 

Valerie

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-09-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem

Awesome.  Glad it worked for you. Smiley Happy  I know what it's like to try endless "solutions" and come up empty. Grrrrrrrrr.

 

I hope this little info-nugget helps a lot of people.  We are all working together to take better photos, and I'm happy to contribute in my own little way.

 

Keep shooting!

 

-Blake

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-20-2015

Re: Eos Utility problem

[ Edited ]

Hi, EOS Utility not working with Windows 10, the problem in the connection, when i run app, eos utility not see my camera, i click on the "Pairing over WIFI / LAN" and happens nothing

CFdpX03W0AAy-_M.jpg

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-09-2014

Re: Eos Utility problem

Hi senyafrost,

 

I have encountered a similar problem, even on Windows 8.  My solution was to (after connecting and turning your camera on) hit the Windows key on your keyboard, type "EOS", then find and launch a program called "EOS Utility 2".  This action bypasses the faulty launcher program and goes directly into the tethered software.

 

Please give this a try and let me know if it works for you.

 

Thanks and good luck!

 

-Blake

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement