Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-06-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Great if you're in the US, but that doesn't work on the UK site. However, a lot of people in this thread and elsewhere would benefit from your info myself included so thankyou! The least they could do would be a make it listed under 8.1 and 10, even if you have to update it!!! Although, this still doesn't fix my issue with any versions of EOS utility working properly with Windows 10...

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-12-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10


piloteer wrote:

Great if you're in the US, but that doesn't work on the UK site. However, a lot of people in this thread and elsewhere would benefit from your info myself included so thankyou! The least they could do would be a make it listed under 8.1 and 10, even if you have to update it!!! Although, this still doesn't fix my issue with any versions of EOS utility working properly with Windows 10...


Which comment are you replying to?

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-30-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Had same problem...I right clicked on EOS utility on desktop, find open file location, you should see a folder named EOS Utility at the top. Open it and you'll see another EOS Utility.exe...double click that one and and the program should work..then I just made a shortcut to that .exe on my desktop.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-06-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

I had this working for a few weeks and then all of a sudden it stopped completely - my EOS 70D is recognized on the network from the PC but the software (any of the three versions that appear in the folder) fail to detect the camera. I've reinstalled the software, wiped the settings on the camera, but all to no avail.

 

To make things worse, I wasn't used to dealing with a memory card and ended up forgetting my SD card as I was having to remove it from the camera each time instead of using WiFi, which is one of the main reasons I got the camera in the first place. I hope that Canon's reading this - if Nikkon offers a similar feature, they're getting my money next time.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-06-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

piloteer wrote:

Great if you're in the US, but that doesn't work on the UK site. However, a lot of people in this thread and elsewhere would benefit from your info myself included so thankyou! The least they could do would be a make it listed under 8.1 and 10, even if you have to update it!!! Although, this still doesn't fix my issue with any versions of EOS utility working properly with Windows 10...


 

Lundavra wrote: Which comment are you replying to?


 

Waddizzle's one on the previous page

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-06-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

What I'd like is to know exactly which version of the software A) to download or B) to use (there seems to be two eos utility.exe applications in the folder as well as EOS Utility 2.exe) for EOS 70D and Windows 10 64-bit. 

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,221
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10


piloteer wrote:

What I'd like is to know exactly which version of the software A) to download or B) to use (there seems to be two eos utility.exe applications in the folder as well as EOS Utility 2.exe) for EOS 70D and Windows 10 64-bit. 


If you are running with a 64-bit Windows OS, you should install the latest edition of EOS Utility Version 3. This will inbstall both Version 3 and Version 2. Some cameras are compatible with Version 3, and some aren't. But when you use Version 3, it detects what type of camera you're using and calls Version 2 automatically if necessary.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-06-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Utility 3 says my 70D is not supported. EOS Utility 2 crashes instantly in Windows 10 as others have mentioned here. Original EOS utility is the only one I've ever got working on Windows 10 but if I  install the update or any more recent versions, EOS Utility 2 is set as the default program to launch and as I mentioned, it crashes instantly. At a bit of a loss and have been since I installed Windows 10

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,221
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10


piloteer wrote:

Utility 3 says my 70D is not supported. EOS Utility 2 crashes instantly in Windows 10 as others have mentioned here. Original EOS utility is the only one I've ever got working on Windows 10 but if I  install the update or any more recent versions, EOS Utility 2 is set as the default program to launch and as I mentioned, it crashes instantly. At a bit of a loss and have been since I installed Windows 10


All I can tell you is that I have it running the way I said on computers running Windows 8, 8.1, and 10. If I were you, I guess I'd uninstall the versions you're trying to run and reinstall the latest edition of EOSU V3. My experience is that that works. If it doesn't work for you, maybe you have some other software interfering.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-03-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

This worked for me. A little tricky trying to find the down load, but got there in the end.

 

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement