Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-18-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

In my case though, I'm just trying to get it to tether with a 1D X by showing/storing a low-res JPEG whilst storing the RAW (and low res) images on the CF cards.

Anyone have any luck with that?
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-24-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Hi anyone having image transfer problem with canon utilities and Windows 10..

 

Solution

1. After Windows 10 update You MUST re-enable Media streaming under windows "Change advanced Sharing settings"

2. If you have any kind of firewall you MUST allow "PING" (ICMP protocol) and/or allow the canon utilities in the white list.

 

 

Sorry no time to elaborate. I almost didn't share this because there is no anonymous replies on this forum.

 

BTW, read the manuals folks. 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-06-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Found something pretty strange! So, the automatic image download (I usually have it download all images that haven't been downloaded over the WiFi connection on my 70D) in EOS utility would get stuck on the first image. I say stuck - it would download but it took an age - literally 15 mins for one photo. Yet it's from the same spot I usually download from and used to get about 1 image a second.

 

Then, when the first image is done, it ramps up speed to normal. Likewise I could actually browse the photos in EOS utility and manually downloading them was fine too. So, even when I get EOS utlility to work (which is still hit or miss in Windows 10) I have to manually download the photos. 

 

Anyway, congratulations to Canon for being the only company that makes software I use that has issues with Windows 10!

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-12-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10


TheHelper wrote:

Hi anyone having image transfer problem with canon utilities and Windows 10..

 

Solution

1. After Windows 10 update You MUST re-enable Media streaming under windows "Change advanced Sharing settings"

2. If you have any kind of firewall you MUST allow "PING" (ICMP protocol) and/or allow the canon utilities in the white list.

 

 

Sorry no time to elaborate. I almost didn't share this because there is no anonymous replies on this forum.

 

BTW, read the manuals folks. 


So why does the earlier version of EOS Utility 2 work perfectly OK in Windows 10 but the later version not work?

 

Why does EOS Utility 3 work OK.

 

I suspect there are several different causes of the problems.

 

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-29-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

[ Edited ]

I found out that my version of Windows 10 is a N version. That means that Microsoft has removed a lot of multimedia functions. Like Windows Media Player.

When searching for a solution I found the update KB3099229 (which replaced the old KB3010081).

And Eureka!! I got Windows Media Player and EOS Utility worked fine.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-02-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

I just purchased a new laptop with Windows 10.  Cannot find anywhere to download the Utility at all.  Have downloaded the update, but being there is no utility to update, there is nothing for it to do.  Any ideas where I can get the utility?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-18-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

I downloaded it a few days ago - just go to Canon's website and look under downloads for your camera (mine is 1Dx).

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-06-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Nope - won't work with most people's cameras. They often offer only an 'updater' download that will only update an existing version - not install from fresh.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,901
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10


piloteer wrote:

Nope - won't work with most people's cameras. They often offer only an 'updater' download that will only update an existing version - not install from fresh.


That's not true.  Most of the DSLRs come with their software on CD.-  Many people use devices that lack CD drives, so the software is available in digital form for download.  It's frequently called a "solutions disk".

 

Is there a specific camera model that you need to download?

 

https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/support/

 

Check out that link, and enter in the camera model.  You may need re-select the OS to see the original disk downloads.  The CDs were not originally released for the latest releases of Windows and Mac OS.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-12-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

I think the only difference when you download some of the progams from the original discs, is that you have to enter the serial number of the camera.  Not sure why as it is presumably of no use to someone with another make of camera, unless there are Canon clones around.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement