Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,624
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

[ Edited ]

ceesvg wrote:

I assume that the EOS utility 2 indeed is for windows 10... not sure...

But Canon didn't make any rumour about it. At least it slipped my attention Smiley Wink


I sense some misunderstanding in this thread regarding the two current versions (2 and 3) of the EOS Utility. Unfortunately, Canon has not done a good job of clarifying the situation. Old timers like me will probably understand it because we know the history, but I can see why a newcomer would be confused.

 

EOSU 2 is the more basic version. It supports, I believe, all current EOS cameras and Version 3 of Digital Photo Professional. It runs under both 32- and 64-bit versions of Windows. I use it regularly on computers running Windows 7, 8, and 8.1.

 

EOSU 3 supports at least the higher-end EOS cameras (check the Canon Web site for details), but not the ones at the bottom end. I believe it used to run only on 64-bit versions of Windows, but they may have introduced a 32-bit version recently. Unlike EOSU 2, EOSU 3 supports Version 4 of Digital Photo Professional. I use it regularly on computers running Windows 7, 8, and 8.1.

 

Both versions (2 and 3) of EOSU can co-exist on the same computer, and what happens when you invoke EOSU depends on what's installed on your computer. If you invoke EOSU with only Version 2 installed, that's what you'll get. If you invoke EOSU with only Version 3 installed, then that's what you'll get; and if your camera isn't supported, the program will reject the attempt. But if you invoke EOSU with both versions installed, you'll start in Version 3; and if your camera is one that it doesn't support, control is passed to Version 2. To support this behavior, the Version 3 installer includes, by default, installation of Version 2 as well. There's a menu to let you option it off, but you probably won't want to do that unless you're desperately short of disk space and you're pretty sure you'll never want to use EOSU with a camera not supported by Version 3.

 

Since I've not yet used Windows 10, I can't say for certain how EOSU behaves there. But common sense suggests that it should behave pretty much as it does under Windows 7 and 8.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-20-2014

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

 It looks like I have the 32bit version of EOS utility and 64bit version of DPP 4 installed. 

 

 I'm going to download 64 bit version of EOS 3 and try it. Will have to DL for EOS 5D as the 70D section on Canon Wevb site only shows EOS utility 2.

 

DPP 4 supports 70D, hopefully EOS 3 does also.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-20-2014

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

 Actually there are no 64 bit versions of the EOS utility. 

 

I downloaded and installed the EOS3 utility, after uninstalling EOS utility 2. Everything seems to work as it should. It loads Ver2 when I connect my 70D. I was able to register DPP4 by browsing to the 64bit version and registering it.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-03-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Bob,

Many thanks for the clarification.

 

However, I am using EOS U 2, which wokrs fine for my 600D, just for downloading the CR2 files.

 

I assume there is no advantage to gain if I'd upgrade to version 3 (?)...since I don't use any other Canon software (but Adobe Lightroom) to maintain the picture files.

 

 

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,624
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10


ceesvg wrote:

Bob,

Many thanks for the clarification.

 

However, I am using EOS U 2, which wokrs fine for my 600D, just for downloading the CR2 files.

 

I assume there is no advantage to gain if I'd upgrade to version 3 (?)...since I don't use any other Canon software (but Adobe Lightroom) to maintain the picture files.

 


No, I think you're fine. If there's an advantage to EOSU 3 for just downloading image files, I'm not aware of it. But I use a card reader for that, so I might not know. I use EOSU only for things like synchronizing the time across my cameras and resetting the copyright notice (since I alternate between home and work use). I'd use it to control a camera remotely, but I don't recall that I ever have.

 

Like many in this forum, I heartily recommend use of a card reader. Not only is it simpler than downloading directly from the camera; it's usually noticeably faster. And it doesn't run down your camera battery. Even a good card reader isn't very expensive, so I consider it a no-brainer.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-03-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Ok, thanks again Bob.
But... I tend towards the use of a cable. I've had problems in the past switching the card from camera to laptop. After a number of times the card wouldn't function anymore. Bad contacts were the cause. So I stick to leaving the card at rest in the camera..
Everyone his own preferences I'd say ;-)

Cees
Assen, the Netherlands
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-30-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

 

I think in this we should ask Canon to solve this issue.

Canon has done a bad job with the launcher of EOS Utility 3 - I had trouble getting it work in Windows 7, 8.

But in Windows 10 it is impossible to get it to work.

 

The solutions described here are workarounds but do not solve the problem.

 

The real problem is that the EOS utility launcher does not recognize the camera and hence does not start an EOS Utility.

The solutions described here do not solve this issue as the EOS utility launchers functionality is also needed for a Wi-Fi connection of camera and EOS utility.

 

So far I have only seen that Canon refuses to recognize this issue as a real problem which leads me to the conclusion that it will not be resolved by the one who should resolve it.

I'm pretty disappointed in the lack of responsiveness from Canon to solve this issue.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-31-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

 

EOS Utility only works if I unplug all of my USB devices - unacceptable!

 

I have uninstalled all Canon software!

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-20-2014

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

On page 6 of the EOS utility Manual Ver 2 it states that on Windows 8 the EOS utility will not launch automatically when the camera is connected and turned on. I assume this would apply to Windows 10 also. 

 

That has been my experience.

 

There is a suggestion on the next page on how to (hopefully) fix this. I tried it but it didn't work. YMMV

 

ATM I start up either the camera first or the EOS utility. When the next one is started (EOS Utility or camera) they connect.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-30-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Canon has updated EOS utility to version 3 intended to work with Win 8 and Win 10.

But as described it doesn't work and Canon doesn't seem to be interested to solve this issue and keep its costumers happy.

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement