Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Honored Contributor
Posts: 6,284
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Check which communication mode the M5 is set use.  It can use wireless, or USB.  It does not know how to swtich on its' own.  YOU must set the communication mode for the method that you're using.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-13-2017

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

I am having the same issue with the EOS program that came with my Canon 80D, same screen etc but isn't showing the camera but following the instructions in the manual there is a screen shot of a camera listed under the camera column. I am going tio have a go at Canon next week as they should have sorted this out 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-07-2017

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

A bit of an old post, but I have just purchased a 5DMK4 and had this issue.

I fixed it like this:

Go to the executable: C:\Program Files (x86)\Canon\EOS Utility\EOS Utility.exe

Right click and choose Properties

Click on the tab Compatibility

In Compatibility mode, check Run this program in compatibility mode for Windows 8

 

This fixed it for me.

Good luck.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-13-2017

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Thanks for that but I am running under windows 10. don't want to risk screwing up the programs and having more issues.

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-13-2017

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Sorry only just seen this!! what do you mean by the communication mode the M5 is set use??
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-07-2017

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Me too. Trust me, I work in IT and this is NOT going to screw up anything.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎12-12-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

I ave a feeling I have tried that unsuccessfully previoiusly but will give it a try.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-09-2017

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

I have had a similar problem since the "Windows Feature" update which just got installed. It's happened in the past, but I always got around it by updating the EOS Utility software. Not this time though. I had to set Compatibility mode to Windows 8 , but on the first "EOS Utility" program - the one that didn't run at all. The second one (in C:\Program Files(x86)\EOS Utility\Eos Utility) would run, but the main options were greyed out. Setting Compatibility mode on the second program did nothing.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,291
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10


firefly2560 wrote:
I have had a similar problem since the "Windows Feature" update which just got installed. It's happened in the past, but I always got around it by updating the EOS Utility software. Not this time though. I had to set Compatibility mode to Windows 8 , but on the first "EOS Utility" program - the one that didn't run at all. The second one (in C:\Program Files(x86)\EOS Utility\Eos Utility) would run, but the main options were greyed out. Setting Compatibility mode on the second program did nothing.

That last big Windows 10 update didn't go very smoothly, but I didn't see a direct effect on EOS Utility. The update did, however, reset some crucial parameters in my computer's network interfaces, which had the effect of killing off WiFi until I got the settings back in order. So if your EOSU is using WiFi to communicate with the camera, it's conceivable that that's at least part fo the problem. Setting up network interfaces isn't exactly trivial; but I happen to be a retired computer system engineer, so for me it was more a nuisance than a show stopper. For someone less computer literate, it could be a problem.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-09-2017

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Luckily, I don't use a Wi-Fi connection. My camera is a 7D Mark 1, which doesn't support Wi-Fi. What the WIndows Update killed was the USB interface, which was easier to fix.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement