Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-03-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10 Upgrade

This method - unplugging all USB devices - worked for me before. But after downloading new Win 10 updates, eos utility stopped working again. Luckily I saw another thread in this page and his method worked like a charm.

 

I went to Canon Support online > Software Downloads > entered my product, in my case 5D Mark II > Software. This automatically identified my OS, the updated Win 10. The fix patch became available for download > Download. Followed the prompts to download, then Opened the downloaded patch. Once again followed the prompts to Install the patch - turned out it became EOS Utility 2. The icon has a different look now, but it works! It works! It works!

 

Thank you, Canon Community! I was tearing my hair out before I found this!

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-20-2014

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10 Upgrade

 Just providing an update on my situation.

 

 In another thread I indicated a problem with Windows 10 not detecting my Camera (70D) on my system (Win 7 upgraded to Win 10). 70D no driver

 

 Other Win 10 systems upgraded from Win 7 detected my camera so I suspect my system was unique.

 

 Well a fresh install of Win 10 detects my camera just fine, and after installing the Canon software from the CD that came with my Camers the EOS utility starts automatically when I connect my 70D. The EOS utility Version is 2.13.30.0.

 

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-06-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10 Upgrade

Interesting! I ended up installing the utility on a second machine in the house that used Windows 7, and getting it to dump the files into Dropbox, so my main PC could read them... I'm planning on reinstalling Windows 10 soon anyway so maybe there's a stray setting or something that's preventing it working. Thanks for the information.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-20-2014

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10 Upgrade

 You're welcome. 

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-20-2014

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10 Upgrade

Here is a further update:

 

 There is still some weirdness however, I can live with it.

 

My camera is recognized on both front USB2 ports and the EOS utility is started automagically when the camera is connected to the first one. However, if I connect the camera to the other USB2 port it is recognized but EOS utility isn't started. The first time I connected to this other port Windows asked what I wished to do. I selected start the EOS utility but it just opens Windows Explorer window. The other USB2 port works fine. I even made sure that Autoplay was set correctly but still only works correctly on the first USB2 port to which it was connected.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-03-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

My computer is an old 2010 model.  It had Win 7 originally installed, but I upgraded/downloaded to Win 10 a year ago. I immediately ran into EOSU functionality problem. I used one method here that worked - disconnecting all USB devices. Recently, however, after downloading Win 10 updates, EOSU stopped working again. Again, a method suggested in this thread - downloading the corrective patch - helped me. EOSU, now detected as EOSU 2, works!

 

I'm not a computer savvy guy, so anything that works in my case, is greatly appreciated. Thank you all!

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-12-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

I found at the weekend that EOS Utility 2 has stopped working again when I connected to my EOS450D. When I connect the camera and switch on, it starts up then crashes.

 

I tried reinstalling but no change.  I dug out an old disc and installed that but lost EOS Utility 3.

 

So ran the latest utility to get EOS Utility working again as that is the camera used most often.

 

I will just stick to taking the memory card out of the EOS450D (and EOS400D?) in the hope that one day Canon will get around to fixing this bug but I am not optimistic about that happening.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,996
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10


Lundavra wrote:

I found at the weekend that EOS Utility 2 has stopped working again when I connected to my EOS450D. When I connect the camera and switch on, it starts up then crashes.

 

I tried reinstalling but no change.  I dug out an old disc and installed that but lost EOS Utility 3.

 

So ran the latest utility to get EOS Utility working again as that is the camera used most often.

 

I will just stick to taking the memory card out of the EOS450D (and EOS400D?) in the hope that one day Canon will get around to fixing this bug but I am not optimistic about that happening.


Millions don't have these problems.  It's no bug.  It's your computer.  Something is either missing or corrupted, most likely your OS.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,935
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10


Waddizzle wrote:

Lundavra wrote:

I found at the weekend that EOS Utility 2 has stopped working again when I connected to my EOS450D. When I connect the camera and switch on, it starts up then crashes.

 

I tried reinstalling but no change.  I dug out an old disc and installed that but lost EOS Utility 3.

 

So ran the latest utility to get EOS Utility working again as that is the camera used most often.

 

I will just stick to taking the memory card out of the EOS450D (and EOS400D?) in the hope that one day Canon will get around to fixing this bug but I am not optimistic about that happening.


Millions don't have these problems.  It's no bug.  It's your computer.  Something is either missing or corrupted, most likely your OS.


As some have pointed out from time to time, there are several versions of Windows 10. Some are configured without certain drivers or utilities needed by the Canon software, and these then have to be separately installed. One rule of thumb is that if you're going to use your computer for serious work, always buy the "Pro" version of the OS.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎12-12-2015

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

But many people here have described the same problem.  It might not be affecting everyone but there is a problem affecting many users.

 

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement