Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-03-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Just to add a final point on the behaviour of the EOS launcher.

 

I have just noticed that if there is a change of user on the PC then the second user to log on will find the EOS utility throws up an error.

I get a small window saying "EOS Utility, The application cannot be launched"

Whilst this is only a minor inconvenience for me. The cure is to turn the PC 'OFF' and then restart it, I only discovered it because I went iinto the administrators profile first. It could possibly affect others.

 

I beleive it has something to do with the EOS UPNP Detector. I think that this may be the app which is called to monitor the USB ports for the camera on PC startup. Whichever user logs on first is the one which gets the program. It is not listed in startup, but the EOS utility is. The EOS utility is also listed as a running app under processes in the task manager, and the EOS UPNP detector is listed under processes.

 

As in my case the EOS utility stopped functioning when the windows update 1709 arrived, and there is a known change in behaviour with windows insofar that Microsoft have introduced a new feature that re-opens apps which were not closed when windows was shut down. This may be the root cause of many problems.

Whilst I have a workaround for this, because of other programs I use and I need windows to close evrything before shutdown and then open a specific app once on restart, there may be others who are still scratching their heads.

 

Valued Contributor
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

[ Edited ]

Bitterend,

 

DPP 4.7.1 Windows Home Build 1709 on board graphics EOS 3.6.3 - Working perfectly

DPP 4.7.2 Windows Pro Build 1709 nVidia Graphics EOS 3.6.3 - Working Perfectly

 

Upgraded to:

 

DPP 4.8.2 Windows Home Build 1709 on board graphics EOS 3.7.0 - Working perfectly

DPP 4.8.2 Windows Pro Build 1709 nVidia Graphics EOS 3.7.0 - Working Perfectly

 

 

Sorry for your issues.  Not having any problems here. I don't allow programs to run automatically when windows starts.  Most everything runs on demand. 

 

System 2 is older:

 

Z97X-UD5H (F8) \RM850w, 4790K, 16GB Vengeance, GTX970 FTW SC, 850 Pro's RAID0, 1TB WD, W10 1709

 

Cold boots in about 17sec.  You may want to look at the number of apps you allow to start at boot time.  Its best to disable these items from starting during install.  Some however, like the EOS utility can be disabled by right-click in the system tray.  If left unmanaged, over time, conflicts can develop and I believe this is the problem you are experiencing now.  The EOS utility does not need to be running when you start your machine, waiting for you to plug in or pair your camera.  Just open it when you need it.       

 

Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 (f/w 1.0.3) ~16-35mm f2.8L II, 50 f1.8 STM, 85 prime, 70-200 f2.8L IS II ~Sigma 24-70 f2.8 Art (f/w 2.0)
~Speedlite 430 EX II ~DPP 4.8.20 ~Windows10 Pro nVidia GPU 1709 ~Nexus6P Oreo 8.1 ~Samsung s9+ Oreo 8.0
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-03-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Hi Rick,

 

I keep the number of apps running at startup to the bare minimum, and then load up what I need. I always have Outlook start automatically, as my first task is to check emails & calender. The issues do not appear to be related to any particular make of hardware, searching for answere there are a huge number of returns to win10 1709 or fall creators update errors, and not on any hardware in particular.

 

The EOS UPNP loader has to be a background application otherwise the PC dosen't call the EOS software. I had the whole thing set up for my workflow:-  Connect camera, tell EOS software to download, Go and make coffee, cone back to find all immages downloaded and in the right folders & lightroom open and ready to import with whatever develop and metadata presets I needed. Drink coffee.

No stress.

 

The MS 1709 update changed all of that. I ended up having to file over 1200 immages manually from a card reader:- Not Fun:- and way too much caffine. The issues could not have been as a result of conflicts. I did a repair install first, and then a full clean install, both of which exhibited the same behaviour. In the end an upgrad to win10 Professional cured the problem. My NAS also re-appeared!

 

As an engineer & photographer programming is out of my comfort zone, and clearly MS have has a lot of flack over this update as the latest update fron a couple of days ago has reversed some of the previous changes.

 

I run 3 profiles on my PC.

An administrator profile which is pretty well locked down. here ond only here can changes be made to the machine. This is really for security.

 

And two user profiles, one for general office work and lightroom etc, and one for CAD work which needs a different screen resolution. I find it easier and quicker to pick a profile rather than change resolutions dependig on the job.

 

Anyway, back to the best bit, 4 weeks in the far east and I managed to get some immages of  Tigers in Sumatra.

 

Regards  Marcel,

 

EOS 5D3, ~16-35 f2.8 ~ 24-105 ~100 f2.8 macro ~70-200 f1.4 ~100-400

AMD fx 6 core + AMD radeon hd graphic card & dual dell monitors

Valued Contributor
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Greetings Marcel,

What happens if you cold boot the machine, log in as admin and connect your camera?  Does it get picked up by the EOS utility now?

 

The Standard User account type is not needed for "most' adults who use common sense and exercise safe broowsing / email habits.  We all have our preferences however.  A machine that has a back up solution implemented is protected against data loss, threats and catastrophe, so using an account with limited permissions is not neccessary.  If you have young children on the machine, then this doesn't apply.  Smiley Happy

Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 (f/w 1.0.3) ~16-35mm f2.8L II, 50 f1.8 STM, 85 prime, 70-200 f2.8L IS II ~Sigma 24-70 f2.8 Art (f/w 2.0)
~Speedlite 430 EX II ~DPP 4.8.20 ~Windows10 Pro nVidia GPU 1709 ~Nexus6P Oreo 8.1 ~Samsung s9+ Oreo 8.0
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,762
Registered: ‎11-13-2012

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

This may help the restart issue: 

 

"

This is the most stupid feature that MS could ever com up.

When you end your work and you shutdown your computer, all that you I want is to start fresh the next day. So, speaking for me and probably millions of other users that don´t want to have Windows opening all sort of programs on start up, it would be much more elegant if MS introduces this odd behavior as a new option. But aparently  simply because some lousy MS developer things that it is better make a shutdown behave similar to a hibernation. 

 

Fortunately there is a solution that somewhat 'fixed' and worked for me, after reading this topik:

https://superuser.com/questions/1229963/windows-10-disable-reopening-programs-after-restart-startup

 

Settings > Accounts > Sign-In Options > Privacy 
Then set "Use my sign-in info to automatically finish setting up my device after an update or restart." to Off."

John Hoffman
Conway, NH

1D X, Rebel T5i, Many lenses, Pixma PRO-100, MX472
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎01-25-2018

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

[ Edited ]

I would also check under your advanced power settings and look under settings for what the power button does and disable Fast Startup.

 

Win 10 is reasonably well behaved on my HP desktop workstation but I have set aside a couple of hours tomorrow and at the end my Asus Transformer tablet will either have Win 8.1 back on it or it is going to be replaced by a new tablet running Android because I have had it with Win 10 on that device.  It originally came with 8.1 and although the initial upgrade to Win 10 went well the Fall "Creator" update has caused multiple problems even though this one has the later processor compatible with the current updates. 

 

After multiple issues I did a fresh install via MS download but of course the Uber geniuses at MS download the older version of Win 10 and then want to upgrade it to the current version.  Looking at history it now has tried several times to upgrade but always fails and upgrading drivers as suggested by MS doesn't cure the issue and a Google search reveals that with these sorts of issues you will either get lucky or potentially spend many many hours going down multiple dead end alleys.  

 

The Asus Transformer pad with detachable keyboard is the perfect size for email and web browsing on the go but it is useless when MS is constantly taking control attempting another failed upgrade.  Moving it from 8.1 was a huge mistake and buying anything new running MS software would be an even bigger mistake.  Relying upon the current incarnation of Microsoft to do the right thing is like looking to the village idiot for leadership during a time of crisis.

 

Rodger

EOS 1DX M2, 1D M2, EOS 650 (film), many lenses
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-03-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Hi to all you good people from snowy London.

 

Rick, You are correct, cold booting was the way to cure part of the problem, and I did create a shutdown button for the task bar.. However MS have realised the error of their ways and changed that behaviour in a subsequent update to 1709. This is the solution that the link in Johns post refers to. They (MS) dont aappear to roll these updates simultainously globally so some users have it and some dont!

I agree with you about adult behaviour re admin account. This is an old habit of mine which goes way back. It was as a result of my son showing me how easy it was to remotly change the settings on a pc if the adminsitrator account was open. this goes back to something like windows 98 or NT. (he is a software engineer) and I never got out of the habit, the woring thing is that all that admin controls are now on the menu for Win10 and can't be removed. I tried to disable them, and it appears that the only way is to use powershell and create a custom menu.

The reason for multiple user profiles is that my CAD software demands a different resolution to Lightroom etc. so I just run that in a different profile. As an engineer I like things tidy as well, and shoving evrything into one menu, as far as I am concerned is untidy and bad practice.

 

John & Roger,

I have been all through those settings many times and cant figure how to stop it going straight back in to the last open profile. It is a bit of a pain though as I frequently have to come out of the one I was last in when windows boots. Quick start is disabled. The only way it appears is to password protect every user account, which again is a bit of a P.I.T.A. On the other hand my wife loves this behaviour on her laptop because she dosent have to log in every time.

 

So do I: I can read all her lovers emails Tee Hee Hee !!!!

 

Joking aside I think this is a rather dangerous feature, and we as users should have a choice. I also take issue with the current trend of pushing evryone to put their data in the cloud and run software remotly. I personally think this is dangerous. I also think that the 1709 update was another step in trying to push users down that route. Once Microsoft et-all have evryone in the cloud using free storage then the charges will kick in.Or am I too much of a cynic?

Valued Contributor
Posts: 325
Registered: ‎11-19-2017

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

No, you aren't a cynic.  "Windows Is A Service"...  just ask Microsoft.  The day is coming when they too (like adobe) will try and get us to subscibe to the OS... or at the very least "features" you need to get work done.  Its coming.  Mark my words. 

Rick
Bay Area - CA
~6D2 (f/w 1.0.3) ~16-35mm f2.8L II, 50 f1.8 STM, 85 prime, 70-200 f2.8L IS II ~Sigma 24-70 f2.8 Art (f/w 2.0)
~Speedlite 430 EX II ~DPP 4.8.20 ~Windows10 Pro nVidia GPU 1709 ~Nexus6P Oreo 8.1 ~Samsung s9+ Oreo 8.0
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-03-2016

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Re win 10 opening last saved profile.

Eventually found a fix here.

https://superuser.com/questions/952868/can-i-disable-auto-logon-on-windows-10-home

Personally I do not think it is a good idea to push users into poking about in the registry, and there are millions who dont have a clue.

 

Rick, when that happens I will be using Unbuntu.

 

Well all you good people out there, I am eternally gratefull for all the help, suggestions, and of course support with this.

I hope that the discussions here can help others. My problems for now are solved; until the next update in april !!!

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-20-2017

Re: EOS Utility not working with Windows 10

Thanks for your post about using EOS Utility Updater, which I downloaded from Canon Support and installed. At first it did not work, but when I typed 'Canon EOS Utility' in the Windows 10 search area it came up at the top of the results. I then right-clicked it, chose 'Run as Administrator' and it worked!  (once the camera was connected by USB and turned on).

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement