Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,451
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Converting CR2


Taiyosan wrote:

Good question and, nope, not tried other computers. Am using a new (1 yr old) Mac Pro with OS 10.11.6; have two other Macs, each using the same OS as this. I think that's an interesting idea and i'll give it a try and learn if computer/OS has any particular effect. Thanks—


There's your problem.  It would seem that Apple's latest OS update is causing issues across the board, not just with Canon software, Adobe software, but for everyone's 3rd party software.  Apple forums are in an uproar.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,981
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Converting CR2

Except 10.11.6 is El Capitan, not Sierra the latest.

 

And his problem is not that the software is not running, but that it can't read his files.

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,451
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Converting CR2


kvbarkley wrote:

Except 10.11.6 is El Capitan, not Sierra the latest.

 

And his problem is not that the software is not running, but that it can't read his files.


The Apple OS is the problem. Try browsing their forums. 

 

If the OP has not updated their Canon software, then they should.  I don't think it will help.  It was a new machine, not an OS upgrade, which most likely means old drivers are not installed.  I got the impression that it has never worked on the new laptop.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-16-2016

Re: Converting CR2

As KV mentions below, this is one-removed from the latest software, El Capitan, not Serra. I haven't upgraded any of my computer as i've heard and read about the chaos being caused by the latest Apple update (always wait until the first, maybe the second upgrade is out).

 

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-16-2016

Re: Converting CR2

To All you Wonderful helpers ... this corruption could have happened a year ago, three years ago, etc. I only dig into my back files when someone asks for something that is in them. Hence, i did discover, about six months ago, that one of the folders from '05 with some hundreds of photo files in it were all corrupted but did not look beyond that. Someone ask about a print from '05 last week and when i searched for that i discovered, with a bit more looking, that more then half of '05 were corrupt. I think there is no way to know when that happened nor how it happened. I'm now browsing the other years (digitially from '99 to now) to see what else may be corrupt. So i guess its good for those of us with photos files from the past two decades to ocassionally look thru to see how they are faring.

 

An interesting challenge, to get the photos viewable again.

Super Contributor
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎02-13-2016

Re: Converting CR2

I have no idea of the inner workings of Macs. But have you noticed any changes in the images' file names? I've seen some Windows software that allows you to leave the file extension off the file names. I'm really just grabbing at straws here.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,734
Registered: ‎06-25-2014

Re: Converting CR2


BurnUnit wrote:
I have no idea of the inner workings of Macs. But have you noticed any changes in the images' file names? I've seen some Windows software that allows you to leave the file extension off the file names. I'm really just grabbing at straws here.

I think what you're saying is that the Windows operating systems let you view file names without their their extensions being displayed. IMO, this option is best ignored (which may mean turning it off; I don't recall what the default is).The software using the files still needs to know their extensions, especially since the user may not. It's all just Microsoft's way of making things more confusing by dumbing them down for the masses.

 

I have no idea whether Mac computers have a similar misfeature.

Bob
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Super Contributor
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎02-13-2016

Re: Converting CR2


RobertTheFat wrote
I think what you're saying is that the Windows operating systems let you view file names without their their extensions being displayed.

 

Precisely. I didn't really fully explain how this might prevent a file from opening, at least in Windows. I had a manager at work once ask me why he couldn't open a Powerpoint file he'd received as an email attachment. He nearly fell out of his chair when I added .ppt to the end of the file name, double clicked it and it popped right open. I've also seen a couple other instances of jpeg files that wouldn't open because the file name was missing the .jpg extension.

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 3,090
Registered: ‎06-11-2013

Re: Converting CR2


Waddizzle wrote:

kvbarkley wrote:

Except 10.11.6 is El Capitan, not Sierra the latest.

 

And his problem is not that the software is not running, but that it can't read his files.


The Apple OS is the problem. Try browsing their forums. 

 

If the OP has not updated their Canon software, then they should.  I don't think it will help.  It was a new machine, not an OS upgrade, which most likely means old drivers are not installed.  I got the impression that it has never worked on the new laptop.


I'm not sure how you could conclude that the OS is the problem.  I don't think there's enough information to make a determination.  Apple's own Camera RAW support for the operating system claims it still supports RAW files from the 20D.  See:   https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT205272

 

Apple's own Camera RAW support is used by Finder (and "Quick Look"), iPhoto, Photos, and Aperture.  There may be other components that use Apple's RAW support to open & view the images.

 

However... Apple's RAW support is NOT used by Canon DPP or Adobe... they provide their own RAW support.

 

Ultimately it helps to understand what a RAW file actually is.

 

The color camera sensor in your camera is ultmately really just a monochrome sensor with a color filter array in front of it.  The filter array used by Canon (and by most camera makers) is a "Bayer Mask".  It's a checkerboard of red, green and blue squares.    When you capture an image, light hits the various color filters.  For example light hitting a "red" filter will end up eliminating blue or green wavelengths of light and only recording the amount of "red" wavelength light for that partiuclar location.  The same is true of the green and blue.  This means you end up with a filter that records how much "red", "green", or "blue" light reached each "photo-site" on the sensor.  These are called "photo-sites" because each light sensitive point is sensitive to only one single color channel.  A true "pixel" would actually have three-channel color (red, green, and blue) which provided a blended hue -- but a RAW file has no blended hues.  The RAW file only stores the mono-chrome photo-site values (they are not blended to create "pixels" yet.)

 

So ultimately the RAW processor understands how to read all the values and create blended 3-channel color for each "pixel" by analyzing the value of the photo-site combined with the values of all of it's neighbor photo-sites on the sensor.  

 

It turns out there's no single "right" way to do this.  If you were to take a RAW file from a camera, and open that very same RAW file using Apple software (and convert it to a TIFF), then do it again with Canon DPP (and convert it to a TIFF), and do it again with Adobe software (and convert that to a TIFF) and then compare all three TIFF files on a pixel-by-pixel comparison, you might expect to have 3 identical TIFF files... but that's not what will happen. Each TIFF file will have slightly different hues for each pixel because they all use their own algorithms to do the RAW conversion.

 

You can use ANY software that can support the 20D's ".CR2" files and it can be on any operating system.

 

Why you cannot open these .CR2 files using any software you've attempted (I'm not sure how many different programs you've tried) is a bit concerning because it might be indicating a more serious problem.

 

Several years ago I had a hard drive which was failing "slowly".  The mechanical heads that have to align to each track to either read or write data were getting a bit sloppy in their alignment.  This meant that if the head was supposed to be aligned precisely over one single "track" on the platter, it was actually slightly off the track and the "writes" were bleeding data into the adjacent track (corrupting whatever files happened to reside there).  Instead of failing all at once, the drive kept "working" while slowly corrupting data as I (unaware of the issue) continued to use it.

 

I discovered this because I had files I had shot, opened, and processed with no problem and then didn't need to touch them for months...    somewhere around 6-12 months later I had an occasion to open the files again and discovered they were corrupt.  I started going through my album and found lots of my files were corrupt (I also started noticing other problems with the drive).  I performed a filesystem "repair" and litterally within half a day there was more corruption.    No worries... I make TWO different backups.  One is a simple disk clone, the other is an incremental backup.  I went to the cloned disk and found the files were also corrupted on the clone (so apparently I backed up already corrupted files.)  However I also went through my "incremental" backups and found that while my most recent backups were corrupt... if I went back about 1 month in backup history I could find versions of the files that were NOT corrupt and I ended up getting all of my data back and lost absolutely nothing (I also replaced the failing drive.)

 

BTW... that incremental backup solution was Apple's built-in "Time Machine" backup.  I HIGHLY recommend (if you didn't already do this) that you either purchase an Apple "Time Capsule" router (which has a hard drive in it and does the backups) -- or buy a large external disk that you will dedicate as your "Time Machine" drive.  This saved my bacon at least twice so far.

 

There is the very distinct possibility that nothing is wrong with the "software" but that something is (or was) wrong with a computer hard drive on which these files were once stored.

 

Tim Campbell
5D III, 5D IV, 60Da
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-16-2016

Re: Converting CR2

Hi Tim, that sounds like what could have happened to my corrupted files. The fact that months, maybe years had passed 'fore i looked at those files keeps me from discoverning the 'when' of the corruption. I don't have an incremental back-up as with slightly less then 4 TB of files ... well you can image what size i would need. So i gambled and lost some files, actually, a lot of files. I've thought about using Apple's Time Machine but that too has limits and i doubt that i could keep years worth of backed up files that i no longer want or think i don't want. All three backup HD are relatively new and i know they will go bad at some unknown date and i'm keeping a closer eye on them then i have in the past. Your discovery of how your HDs went wonky is very useful knowledge and i hope will help me keep my files safe.

 

Thank you for responding to this question we have been pondering.

 

-taiyo

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement