Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-12-2016

Re: Camera Connect App User Guide

Dear colleagues,

 

I have this error message in Camera Connect : 

 

Cannot use this function with the value for [viewable imgs] currently set on camera.

 

I can only press OK. to exit the message. So this option does not work.

 

The othe two menu options (Images on Camera, and Camera settings) work fine - so to connection with my EOS80D is OK.

 

=> What setting is "wrong" on my 80D ?  I've tried it in and out Live View, in program mode "P", in "A+",  but no change...

 

Please advise.  THANKs !

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,868
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Camera Connect App User Guide


ADM1964 wrote:

Dear colleagues,

 

I have this error message in Camera Connect : 

 

Cannot use this function with the value for [viewable imgs] currently set on camera.

 

I can only press OK. to exit the message. So this option does not work.

 

The othe two menu options (Images on Camera, and Camera settings) work fine - so to connection with my EOS80D is OK.

 

=> What setting is "wrong" on my 80D ?  I've tried it in and out Live View, in program mode "P", in "A+",  but no change...

 

Please advise.  THANKs !


I don't fully understand your issue.   Something seems lacking in your description, mainly what exactly are you doing to create the error message.  If it seems to work with one setting, why don't you use that setting?  Big disconnect here.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-12-2016

Re: Camera Connect App User Guide

Let me clarify : 

 

I have 3 buttons in the app : 

  1. Images on camera
  2. Remote shooting
  3. Camera settings

Buttons 1 & 3 work. But when pusing button 2, I get this error message.

 

So basically, I can not shoot remotely from my smartphone...

 

Please advise. Thx !

 

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,868
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Camera Connect App User Guide


ADM1964 wrote:

Let me clarify : 

 

I have 3 buttons in the app : 

  1. Images on camera
  2. Remote shooting
  3. Camera settings

Buttons 1 & 3 work. But when pusing button 2, I get this error message.

 

So basically, I can not shoot remotely from my smartphone...

 

Please advise. Thx !

 


Okay, we're on our way.  You're trying to control an 80D camera using what phone and version of the application?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-12-2016

Re: Camera Connect App User Guide

Thanks !

 

I'm using version 1.3.10.21 of the app.

My EOS 80D is on firmware 1.0.1.

 

 

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,868
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Camera Connect App User Guide


ADM1964 wrote:

Thanks !

 

I'm using version 1.3.10.21 of the app.

My EOS 80D is on firmware 1.0.1.

 

 


On which phone?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-12-2016

Re: Camera Connect App User Guide

On a DOOGEE Valencia 2 Y100 Pro  smartphone.

Runs Android 5.1.

 

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-12-2016

Re: Camera Connect App User Guide

I updated the app to version 1.3.20.52,  but still get the same error message...

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,868
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Camera Connect App User Guide


ADM1964 wrote:

Let me clarify : 

 

I have 3 buttons in the app : 

  1. Images on camera
  2. Remote shooting
  3. Camera settings

Buttons 1 & 3 work. But when pusing button 2, I get this error message.

 

So basically, I can not shoot remotely from my smartphone...

 

Please advise. Thx !

 


I'm not certain if all phones can do remote shooting.  Tablets, yes.  Phones, not so certain.  Some phones lack the display resolution to implement remote shooting.  Tablets have bigger higher resolution displays. 

 

I have always thought that remote shooting was only possible with the EOS utility, which doesn't run on Android.  There are two different "Wireless Communication Settings" in the camera.  One is for "Connect to Smartphone".  Another is "Remote Control (EOS Utility)". 

 

But, you're getting message suggesting that it can, and some setting in the camera could be holding it up.  Do you have "Live View Shooting" set for "Enable" in the Red Shooting 3/5 menu?  That's the only setting that I see that could prevent remote shooting.

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-12-2016

Re: Camera Connect App User Guide

Ah, that's indeed the issue !

it works very well on my iPad.

 

Thanks for the advise !

 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement