Canon Community Canon Community

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Share your Astrophotography Photos

[ Edited ]

CajunSteph wrote:
Yes, well explained, thank you for your generous consideration. Smiley Happy I am mainly interested in researching zoom powers in order to take images of what looks like someone holding the Moon on their shoulders, in their hands or bouncing it like a ball. lol I only have a 55-250mm and it's just not quite long enough. Smiley Sad Thanks again.

This could be estimated fairly accurately by calculating the AOV, Angle-Of-View, of the Moon against that of your subject with their hands spread.  I have never done it before, BTW

The night sky is basically a half circle, 180 degrees.  I cannot recall how many degrees of the sky that the Moon occupies, but let's say that it is 0.5 degrees.  If you go to an online Canon vendor, you will see a specification listing for Angle-Of-View for every Canon lens. 

Let's say that a lens gives you 40 degress of AOV.  This means that you could fit 80 Moons side by side across your image.  I've been tweaking the various Moon photos I took last night.  The one posted earler was the first one I processed. 

IMG_6802.jpg

I took some shots with filters, without filters, and different exposures and focal lengths.  The above was shot with the same lens and settings, but with a a different camera, 6D, and no CPL filter.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Honored Contributor

rgmoore that is a way cool shot.  Smiley Wink

A lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
Occasional Contributor

Of course your right, Waddizzle Smiley Happy Thanks for the insight. Smiley Happy I'm sure I'll be able to figure it out now !!!
Steph
Topics: 1
Kudos: 15
Solutions: 1

Stellar Sentries