cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Pro-100 owner: a few basic questions

GadgetNeil
Apprentice

I'm excited to have just set up a brand new Pro-100.  It looks huge on the desk, although I expected that.  I am eager to print some nice 13x19 in photos.  My local camera store had a special when I bought it, that it included a 50-sheet package of the 13x19 Canon Pro Luster paper (LU-101).  I also have a package of 20 sheets of letter size Canon Photo Paper Plus - Glossy, that I'd never opened.

I've read a lot, and watched youtube videos, so have some ideas of what to do, but I am basically new to home printing.  I have a new Macbook Pro running Yosemite and recently got a Dell U2413 monitor which I have calibrated with the X-rite ColorMunki Display.  I have Lightroom 5 and Photoshop CC (via the monthly subscription), and plan to mainly print from Lightroom, of course using ICC profiles for whatever paper I use, for this printer.

Here are my questions (for now):

1.  If I only print once every week or 2, is it better to leave the printer power on all the time, or to turn the power off when not using it?

2.  I have read it is best, to avoid clogs, and for other reasons, to be using the printer fairly regularly.  One person suggested I try to print something, even if just 8x10, once a week.  The reading I've done suggests that this printer doesn't clog so easily, but is there a recommended schedule as to the longest time period I should go without printing?

3. Since Lightroom has an excellent print module, which can use ICC profiles, am I best off printing from that, or should I use Canon Print Studio Pro?  I installed the Print Studio pro plugins for Lightroom and Photoshop, but if I use the plugin in Lightroom, would that take me out of the Print module?

4.  After setting up the printer, I had it do the print head alignment.  Should I also do a nozzle check, or is that only needed if a problem?

thanks,

Neil

1 REPLY 1