Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-11-2016

Re: mx922 printer fails due to "no paper in upper tray"

See see fix above! This printer is great once you fix the issue.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-04-2018

Re: mx922 printer fails due to "no paper in upper tray"

[ Edited ]

You know when you have a problem like this and you say: it really shouldnt be that hard?

Well just copy it. Then open up notes. Now paste it to notes. Now print. Guess what? It prints to upper tray. Yaaa. 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-11-2016

Re: mx922 printer fails due to "no paper in upper tray"

Read the fix above
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-12-2018

Re: mx922 printer fails due to "no paper in upper tray"

This worked for me!!  Thank you very much!!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-11-2016

Re: mx922 printer fails due to "no paper in upper tray"

See fix above
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-14-2018

Re: mx922 printer fails due to "no paper in upper tray"

I found a solution: I took some regular paper and using a ruler and scissors, cut it down to 5 x 7, then loaded that into the top cassette that is supposed to be for photo paper. It printed out just fine but it's a smaller print than what you are probably looking for. Another thing you can do if you just want to get past the error message is you can clear out the print job by pressing the stop button until your print jobs are clear. I don't get the error when printing out e-mails, only when trying to print out stuff that are sent from text. So I'm thinking, stuff that is sent with text is often pictures that were taken with the sender's phone camera, which is probably why the printer considers it to be a picture for the upper cassette. 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-04-2018

Re: mx922 printer fails due to "no paper in upper tray"

You know when you have a problem like this and you say: it really shouldnt be that hard?

Well just copy it. Then open up notes. Now paste it to notes. Now print. Guess what? It prints to upper tray. Yaaa.
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-12-2018

Re: mx922 printer fails due to "no paper in upper tray"

This is not an iphone or mac problem.  It's a canon printer problem that's been going on for awhile. I tried to print from my Windows 10 computer and have the same problem.  In the driver on Windows 10 there is much more information available about the printer driver and the settings.  It is set to plain paper and the size is 8.5X11.  The lower cassette is chosen as an option.  Still get the error code saying no paper in lower tray.  There is plenty of paper in the lower tray and it's been adjusted several times.  Time for Canon to admit it's their problem and fix it.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-12-2018

Re: mx922 printer fails due to "no paper in upper tray"

This is not an iphone or mac problem.  It's a canon printer problem that's been going on for awhile. I tried to print from my Windows 10 computer and have the same problem.  In the driver on Windows 10 there is much more information available about the printer driver and the settings.  It is set to plain paper and the size is 8.5X11.  The lower cassette is chosen as an option.  Still get the error code saying no paper in lower tray.  There is plenty of paper in the lower tray and it's been adjusted several times.  Time for Canon to admit it's their problem and fix it.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-24-2018

Re: mx922 printer fails due to "no paper in upper tray"

 Naturally, I'm getting the same message.

 

The Canon rep's instructions are malarky; he'sa trying to make you think it's not Canon's fault (it is!) I have this wirelessly connected to both a PC, a Macbook and a Mac desktop. 

 

Although ALL THREE have the media type set to "plain paper" and "letter 8.5"x11"", only the Mac desktop will print on this printer, andonly after it has been turned off and then back on. Moreover, once it's inactive for the evening, you must turn it off/on in the morning.

 

It won't print at all from the PC--even though the PC recognizes it and tosses up a Canon Garden pop-up whenever I rebot. Why? Get this! "PRINTER MUST BE CONNECTED TO THE COMPUTER WITH A USB CABLE. PRINTERS CONNECTED VIA A NETWORK CANNOT BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIR". Hold on a second ... YUP! Just checked my calendar; it's 2018!! (someone tell Canon, please).

 

I have a black & white 910--everything prints beautifully from that.

 

I also just uploaded new software. It printed from the PC (ya!) ; it prints from the Mac dekstop (ya!); Macbook? not yet ...

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement