cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pigmentd blk print problem

webfoot
Apprentice

Hello, newbie here.  Have been using Canon inkjet printers for some time and up to a week ago, had no reason to visit the forum due to any problems.

So here is the problem.   (Pixma 9420) Recently the wife was using her PrintMaster prgm and after printing noticed some black text wasn't printing.  No problem with color and some black that I would say were graphics and not straight text.  Did some checking and didn't see any issue until a did a nozzle check.  All looked OK except the pigmented black which showed nothing.Oh, at this point had not received any LOW INK message.

Here is what I've done so far without rectifying the problem:

* done several clean cycles.

* pulled the printhead.  Using some printhead cleaner put a few drops of the cleaner into the input for the pgbk cartridge.  The cleaner was absorbed quickly and the napkin I had the printhead sitting on showed the passages not to be cloged.  Put some more cleaner in to the port until the flow out was looking fairly clear.  At this point I put the printhead and carts back in the printer.

* Tried printing some plain text.  and did see the output.  The blk wasn't as dark as I would have liked to see it.

* Did another nozzle check and like before, nothing for the pigmented black.

(Not sure what is happening as the text previously printed was light but otherwise OK.)

* later last night the wife again was using her PrintMaster prgm and once again same black text was blank when printed.  Again colors were OK.

* this morning I looked into things again.  No output of text from a word processor.  Nozzle check again showed nothing for the pigmented black.

* Once again pulled the printhead and placed some cleaner in to the input port. Fluid flowing fine.