Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-06-2015

Re: MX922 scanner problem message: set the pc to start scanning

I'm glad it helped! If you haven't already, you can note the post that helped with a Kudos. It helps to zero in on solutions that have worked for others.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-08-2016

Re: MX922 scanner problem message: set the pc to start scanning

I've just been scanning to a USB drive to avoid headaches.  Today I decided to try to scan to my laptop but all it says is "Local (USB)" and when I press the black and white print icon I get "Set the PC to start scanning".  It won't even let me go back to the USB drive option. 

Help - I just need to get this done because I'm dealing with a deadline.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-27-2015

Re: MX922 scanner problem message: set the pc to start scanning

Go to your PC, go to the Start menu, go to the "Canon Utilities" folder, open the "IJ Network Scanner Selector EX" folder, open the application under there of the same name. You should see your "MX920 Series" printer listed, with a MAC address listed below that (a series of numbers and letters in sets of 2 separated by colons). Select the "Scan from Operation Panel Settings" button at the bottom. A similar screen will pop up. Don't do anything - just click "OK" on that screen, which will take you back to the first screen. Press "OK" on that screen and the utility closes. Go to your printer, press scan. Should now work normally. I have no idea why this works, and I have to do it every 3rd or 4th time I use the scanner now, but it works.
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-08-2016

Re: MX922 scanner problem message: set the pc to start scanning

I don't have a Canon Utilities folder.  Now what?

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-27-2015

Re: MX922 scanner problem message: set the pc to start scanning

Can you try searching for "Network Scanner Selector EX"? Go to your start menu and just type that in the bar at the bottom.
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-08-2016

Re: MX922 scanner problem message: set the pc to start scanning

It says that nothing matches my search.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-12-2016

Re: MX922 scanner problem message: set the pc to start scanning

Hey, Varice...

This makes absolutely no sense. BUT IT WORKED!

Thanks

I see that you encountered this 15 months ago.

Barry
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-14-2016

Re: MX922 scanner problem message: set the pc to start scanning

THANK YOU!! All these years later and you deserve a great big thank you!

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-16-2015

Re: MX922 scanner problem message: set the pc to start scanning

I too am having a issue getting my Canon MX922 to scan.  The problem started when I first "connected" the new Canon MX922 Printer (at that time I could not get the new printer to work at all and had to come to Canon's site and download a driver, apparently the driver did not include scanning) I was using Win OS 7 in my computer, recently I've downloaded Win OS 10 and I'm still getting the same message on the printer "Set the PC to start scanning."  I've tried a couple of the fixes that others have posted on here but none appear to have solved the problem.  Is there any solution to this problem or am I stuck with a printer that won't scan?  Please advise.  TCrossett  1 April 2016

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-06-2015

Re: MX922 scanner problem message: set the pc to start scanning

When I went from Win 7 to Win 10 I believe I had to go back and download the driver from the Canon website.  Suggest you first use your computer's search tool to see if you have  "IJ Network Scanner Selector EX"  If not, go to USA.Canon.com and navigate to support for the Pixma 922.  (Should look something like:

 https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/support/details/printers/inkjet-multifunction/mx-s...   

and get the driver for Win 10 and install.  Hopefully that's all it will take.  Restart, can't remember if you have to go thru LAN settings on printer again or not, I think I automatically connected to my wireless network since I was connected already under Win 7. If printer still not detecting computer, launch "IJ Network Scanner Selector EX, make sure the button is selected, and say ok.  (See my 1st post.) You probably won't be changing any settings, but somehow this wakes it up.

Also, you might see if you can initiate scanning from your computer.... go to programs>Canon Utilities>IJ Scan Utility.  From there you can initiate a scan, or you can click "Instructions". Let folks know if this helped!

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement