Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-20-2015

Re: MX920 says printer is out of paper but the paper is full

try removing the upper paper tray before printing...

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-09-2016

Re: MX920 says printer is out of paper but the paper is full

I managed to fix this issue on my computer by ditching AirPrint!

 

I had the same issue. Canon MX920 worked fine for 2-3 weeks after purchasing it, then suddenly each print job would generate the error "no paper in upper cassette" despite every setting I could find being set to print 8.5x11 paper.  I tried deleting the printer and reinstalling and it did not fix the problem.  

 

Then I tried the deleting the printer one more time, and when I was on the page to re-install it, there is was dropdown selecting the correct software to use.  Mine was set to "AirPrint" but when I chose the "Canon MX920" setting instead, it automaticlaly downloaded and installed the Canon software instead and then it started working again!

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-01-2016

Re: MX920 says printer is out of paper but the paper is full

I have done everything listed in this thread to get my printer to quit throwing the 1008 code (no paper in tray).  I am still unable to print!  What other way to remedy this problem is there? 

Product Expert
Posts: 1,500
Registered: ‎07-28-2014

Re: MX920 says printer is out of paper but the paper is full

Hi suzanne820,

 

It is recommended that you contact live technical support . There is NO charge for this call. Real time feedback of a live technical support call would be very beneficial in this case.

Please dial 1-866-261-9362, Monday - Friday 10:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m. ET (excluding holidays). A Canon technical support representative will be able to resolve this issue faster.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-04-2015

Re: MX920 says printer is out of paper but the paper is full

This is most probably a driver issue, nothing to do with paper size or type. I have been on several forums and Canon reps do not know the answer. At least for Macs, changing printer drivers to Gutenprint drivers solves the issue. The drivers should be installed first, then the printer should be removed and added again in the printer preference pane. But then one needs to choose CUPS-Gutenprint rather than Canon driver.

On my Mac running 10.11.3 the 2-year old printer showed code 1007 (upper cassette empty).

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-22-2016

Re: MX920 says printer is out of paper but the paper is full

I also ran into this problem today with a Canon PIxma MG5420.  I have not used the upper tray in ages, and botom tray has paper, but printer insists on trying to print from upper tray.  Really annoying is that I went through all of the settings I could access from the printer itself, several times, and could find nothing about which tray to use.

 

Based on another post in this thread, I repeated the process of printing the desired web page.  But this time, I dug into whatever print settings I could find from the print page, and likely found the cupprit.  It's probably Google Chrome.  Or possibly AWS.

 

I was trying to print a report from the Amazon Web Services site while using Chrome.  On the page was a "Print" button.  That brings up a popup window of printer settings.  Then had to click the link with label "More settings", which brings up a setting for "Paper size".  This was set to "4 x 6".  When I changed that to "Letter", and clicked the "Print" button, the page printed with no problem.  So apparently, because this was set to "4 x 6", some logic somewhere decided the printer needed to use the upper tray and not the lower tray.  I do not know any good reason why the value "4 x 6" was selected for paper size.  I have not selected that size.  And with that setting, it wanted to print 2 pages, so it does not seem like a case of "what needs to be printed will fit in 4 x 6 box".

 

I don't know if it's Chrome or the AWS website that caused the erroneous Paper size of "4 x 6".  Though it does seem as if the Canon software ought to give better clues as to what is going on and provide a way to specify the correct paper tray.

 

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-04-2015

Re: MX920 says printer is out of paper but the paper is full

The reason why I thought about the driver was that in my printer settings the paper size was "US letter" and was never changed in 2 years.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-17-2016

Re: MX920 says printer is out of paper but the paper is full

Any time I print a phone, it forces me to use the top tray. Most of the time I am printing a screen shot or something else that I don't want on photo paper. I never have paper that size to put in the top tray. Is there any way to for it to print from the bottom tray ?
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-03-2016

Re: MX920 says printer is out of paper but the paper is full

I recently purchased an MX922 printer, and immediately had the same problem as everyone else.  I set up the wireless printer (no problem) and successfully printed a test page, so I knew the bottom cassette was working.  When I tried to make a simple copy, I received the same message as other posters:  no paper in lower cassette, even though I knew the cassette was full and had been working properly.

 

Now, I believe in science and the problems of climate change.  I take whatever reasonable steps I can to reduce my environmental impacts. In looking at the various printer settings, however, I noticed something called "Eco-print."  I turned off the various "Eco" settings, and, voila, I successfully printed my copies.

 

I promise to find other ways to reduce my carbon footprint.  Hope this posting helps someone with this maddening problem.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-19-2016

Re: MX920 says printer is out of paper but the paper is full

I recently ran into this problem with Mac OS Sierra, printing recipe using Chrome browser.  Found that if i clicked the print button on the web page, I had to select "print using system dialog" near the bottom of the print popup window, then change Feed From "Auto select" to "Bottom tray".  Voila! 

 

But, it looks like I have to do this each time, no way to save this as default.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement