Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
aplatt1951
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-03-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX3600

I am running windows 7 pro. error message is

Canon MP Navigator EX has stopped working.  Then it says the program will stop and I will be notified when a solution is found. which never happens. My equipment is MX350 WiFi. Until recently there were no problems.

Please use plain text.
Product Expert
Michael
Posts: 715
Registered: ‎10-16-2012

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX3600

Hello.

 

The issue that you are experiencing could be caused by other TWAIN devices that have been installed previously on the computer.  Removing these devices from the Windows Twain32 folder may resolve this.  To do this, please follow these steps:

 

1.  Click on Start.

2.  Type TWAIN_32 and press the ENTER key on the keyboard.

3.  When the TWAIN_32 folder appears, take note of what is in the folder.  We are going to move anything that is not needed for the Canon unit to operate.  Files that are going to stay are wiatwain.ds and any Canon-related folders.  Canon folders could be named MPxxx or CNQxxx.  Leave those files/folders in this window.  If there are any others, right click them and left click on CUT.

4.  Close the window.  On the Desktop, right click and left click on PASTE.  The folder should now be on the Desktop. 

5.  Click Start and then search for TWAIN_32 again.  Click on the folder that appears in the results above.

6.  In the TWAIN_32 window, repeat the above process until all that is left in the TWAIN_32 folder is wiatwain.ds and the Canon folder, for example MPxxx.

 

Once that is complete, restart the computer.

 

When the computer restarts, attempt to scan again.

 

If these troubleshooting steps do not work, feel free to call us at 1-800-OKCANON.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mrswould
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-22-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX870)

My twain_32 folder only has one folder MX430seris and one document wiatwain.ds

 

 

what do I need to do?

Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
aplatt1951
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-03-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX870)

thats exactly whats supposed to be there. Canon will actually help by guiding you through a download of latest drivers and software. but if that doesn't work they'll tell you something is wrong with the computer and to call your manufacturer, who of course will send you right back to Canon. Im probably going to end up buying a new printer/scanner - and it won't be a Canon.

Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
rafirondon
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-24-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX870)

I have same problem and have not solved

 

I am running it on Windows Vista Home Premium (service pack 2) . Device is connected via USB.

 

I have read the other posts about the twain 32 folder but they refer to other operating systems  such as windows 7.  I also tried reinstalling the software. In fact, the cannon website where you can get support does not seem to have the model MX870.  I had to select model MX876 which was the closest, in order to obtain a link to download the software.

 

Please help

Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
rafirondon
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-24-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX3600

I have same problem and have not solved. the software will not start, the error message says: it stopped working.

 

I am running it on Windows Vista Home Premium (service pack 2) . Device is connected via USB.

 

I have read the other posts about the twain 32 folder but they refer to other operating systems  such as windows 7.  I also tried reinstalling the software. In fact, the cannon website where you can get support does not seem to have the model MX870.  I had to select model MX876 which was the closest, in order to obtain a link to download the software.

 

Please help

Please use plain text.
Product Expert
Karl1
Posts: 286
Registered: ‎01-16-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX870)

Hi rafirondon,

 

Actually, even though the steps indicate Windows 7, I just read the steps provided by Michael above and they would also apply to Windows Vista.  As this is one of the most common causes of this error I would recommend trying these steps and see if they work.  If not, I would recommend going into the Control Panel via the Start menu, click User Accounts, then create a new Administrator account.  Reboot the computer and log into the new account, then see if the same error occurs from within the new account.

Did this answer your question? Please click the Accept as Solution button so that others may find the answer as well.
Please use plain text.
Occasional Contributor
rafirondon
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-24-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX870)

Thanks for your advice. I just tried all of  your suggestions and still getting the same error message. I followed the instructions posted above and also I did what you said and created another admin account.

 

I don't know what else to do.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
rjmeagle
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-02-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX870)

I have a MX882 running on an HP Elitebook 8770W running on Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit with SP 1. I have tried all the recommended solutions provided herein to no avail including creating a new profile/user, uninstalling/reinstalling MP Navigator et al. When I created a new user, the problem went away at first, but shortly thereafter the "stopped working" error reappeared.

 

I am an IT Professional and have recommended and used the Canon Pixma/MX series in various locations within my company. Until now, I had a high regard for these models, but I have quickly soured on this.

 

Canon really needs to address this issue. I am left with no recourse, but to start using HP products, which I have done in the past. Gave Canon a shot and now am not certain it was a good idea.

 

Of course, a satisfactory resolution to this would go a long way to re-establishing my confidence in Canon. For now, I will research other scanners since I am "dead in the water" with my laptop and Canon.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
mrswould
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-22-2013

Re: Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX870)

So I found a super back alley way to access my scans! Even though I still get the box that says " Canon MP Navigator Stopped Working (MX870)" I was finding that I could trick my scanner as though it was scanning a picture but the files were to large but today I found out that all my files have been saved in file. THis is how to access them>>>>

 

1. c:

2.users

3."choose your username"

4. My Pictures

5.MP Navigator EX

 

inside the "MP Navigator EX" I found dated folders form all of the files that I though never scanned into the computer!

 

I hope this helps someone!

Please use plain text.
powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement