Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-30-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

Mine is: 45303201XXXX, bought it in Europe...
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-21-2013

Re: shutter release not working S100

Mine is 43303200XXXX

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-25-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

Mine is 44213200XXXX.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-23-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

[ Edited ]

Same problem in here. Suddenly my S100 just stopped taking photos properly (yeah 2-4second to take a picture) This is crap because i haven´t use this camera much and now when i need it in my vacation it does that! Canon, save our trust in you and fix this for free because this camera wasn´t cheap at all. I live in Finland and bought it here,

I just think this is the best forum to tell about this problem.

 

Model PC1675

Serial No : 45xxxxxxxxxx

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎06-13-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

According to the Canon care centre in Canada, both yours and mine are NOT in the affected list of series. Strange, that we have the same issue. Anyone else out there with different series, let's continue to speak and write to Canon so that they see there are more models affected!
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-02-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

Same stuff here. Shutter release button stopped working after about 6 months of quite heavy use (around 50.000 photos shot). First it still continued when pressed from the angle, not straight down. Now completelly dead. Since on warranty was sent back for repair.

Bought in europe (netherlands).

Serial: 46303200xxx.

 

Chris.

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 889
Registered: ‎03-01-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

There is very little doubt in my mind now that these problems are not related to the mounting of the circuit board directly below the shutter switch..it either works its way away from the button over time thus pushing the button does not work or comes loose in some fashoin. At this point I'd bet money on it.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎06-13-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

Many thanks, Chris. Hopefully there will be strength in numbers. Anyone else with a 46 series S100 problem?
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-27-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

[ Edited ]

Finally my problem was solved!! I sent in my Powershot S100 to Canon Germany and they repaired it for free. Now everything works fine again. The repair note states that the circuit board directly below the shutter switch was replaced. FINALLY!!! Don't stop believing folks. ;-)

 

PS: the part that was replaced is called FPC ASS'Y, TOP... maybe that helps you guys.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-02-2014

Re: shutter release not working S100

It is ok that it was repaired for free. The thing is - how long will it last. For about 5 years I was using SX1. The delete button was failing every single year for 4 years. When it failed fifth time i've stopped repairing. For me things like that are pure design error or using cheap elements to save few more cents. I have always trusted all canon products made in japan (s100 is made in japan and sx1 was also), but it seems that canon no longer means quality. Sad...

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement