cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Viewfinder on Canon Power Shot S5IS is not good at all

cherylndesigns
Contributor

Hi everybody.  My name is Cheryl and I just joined this forum.  I bought a used Canon Power Show S5IS on Ebay for my grandson.  I KNOW that he'll want to use the viewfinder and it literally looks like it has a piece of fine screen wire over it!  

I got NO instructions with it and I've been googling everything all day.  I know cameras, since I've had all kinds and a couple of new DSLRs so I'm not a beginner.  Does anybody have any suggestions?  I'm hoping it's just some setting that I'm missing.

The strange thing is that when I look through the swing-out view finder, the image looks almost perfect.

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

John_
Authority

Hi Cheryl! And welcome!

Ok for starters here's the link for all the manuals that comes with the camera and software...user manuals too   https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/portal/us/home/support/details/cameras/support-point-and-shoot/po...

Press the "menu" button and in there you will find the "record" menu and in there you wil find the settings to turn "grid lines" on or off for the LCD and/or Viewfinder. One last thing in the setup menu you can also adjust the brightness for the viewfinder  and LCD too and I think there might be a little focus dial on the viewfinder that might need adjustment

That is a fine camera for your grandson!  🙂

View solution in original post

MikeSowsun
Authority
Authority

The  viewfinder has a "Diopter" adjustment for people who wear glasses. The adjustment wheel is just to the left of the viewfinder. Adjust it so that the image in the viewfinder seems clear for your own vision. 

Th grid lines are optional and can be turned off using the "Function" menu as described on page 30 in the "Advanced Manual.  

001.jpg

Mike Sowsun