cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PowerShot SX520

guyguy17
Apprentice

I am a beginner and I am looking at the PS SX520 camera. I am looking to see if this camera would suit my needs.

1. Does this camera take good pictures in an auditorium where the setting is low level lighting? 

2. Which memory card is best used in this type of camera?  I know that most cards would fit.

3. Does this camera take rechargeable battery? 

I was looking at the Panasonic Lumix FZ200 and Nikon L840 both cameras are suppose to be really good. Obviously, the Panasonic is better than Nikon. I wanted to see if the PowerShot camera is good as well. I have read that some cameras when you zoom into an object, the extension starts to shake and you lose quality of the picture.  Does this happen with the PowerShot camera?

I am looking to take outdoor pictures of scenery, nature, landmarks, my kids playing sports, etc..  I will be taking some action shots of my kids playing sports.  I will be taking pictures on a bright sunny day and other times it might be cloudy.

I am looking to take indoor pictures as well.  I will be taking pictures in low level light, maybe a lamp on, maybe the sun coming through the window.  I will be taking pictures in an auditorium where I will be sitting with dim to low level lighting but the stage has bright lights.  Obviously, sitting in an auditorium, you have to sometimes zoom in to capture the shot on stage.

This is a bonus. I would like to take video of my kids, indoors and outdoors possibly with sound.

Any suggestions would be helpful.

7 REPLIES 7

Waddizzle
Legend
Legend

Are you asking about long discontinued cameras?  By thrid parties?  BTW, I haven't found a PowerShot SX570.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."

Yes there is no SX570 there is an old A570 though?