cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G9X Questions

wpascarelli
Apprentice

Hello,

I have been using Canon point & shoot cameras for the last 8 years or so. I just purchased a G9X after using an S110 for a while. So far I am enjoying it, however I have a couple of questions.

Is there any way to get  a more customized shooting information display? Currently the only options I see are to choose between 3 pre-configured screens of information. In other cameras like the S110 I can choose to make the "Program" Mode screen look more like how the "Auto" Mode looks in the G9X. However I cannot do that on this camera, I have to either accept it having several extra icons on the screen that I dont want, or having a totally blank screen with no information on it. I assume there is no way to get it the way I want, but I just want to make sure Im not missing something.

Also, is there any reason why the Auto mode on the G9X wont allow Superfine images (or "sL" or whatever its called)? Or is there a way to make it to use Superfine/sL? I have set it in the camera settings to use Superfine, and it does in other camera modes, but when I switch to Auto, it only shoots in Fine ("L"). 

7 REPLIES 7

newsense52
Rising Star

Is the letter "s" is encircled with a quadrant of a circle? - this means superfine compression ratio image quality?

Is the letter "L" is large paper size of 15 M recording pixel? - this means size of  print size 

To change those press func/set button and use arrows to move and press ok buttton to change.

Need more info for first question you have.

For my question about Superfine, what Im trying to say is that Superfine is not selectable in Auto mode. I can select it in Program mode. But then when I switch to Auto mode the S goes away and it is no longer Superfine.