Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-22-2017
Accepted Solution

Convert Images from "SC" to "IMG"

I need help!  We used our Canon yesterday, like we do every day, taking 100+ pics each day for our business, and for some reason, the pics that we took yesterday saved on the camera card as "SC" images and we can't view/download them.  DOes this mean that they're "raw" images?  How can we convert them to IMG images, so that we can use them?  And, we have never had this happen before, so how can we prevent it from happening in the future?  We took some very important pics yesterday, so I have my fingers crossed that someone will know what went wrong and how we can get our pics!  Thanks!

Moderator
Posts: 419
Registered: ‎06-05-2013

Re: Convert Images from "SC" to "IMG"

Hi EnergyGuys!


Welcome to the Canon Forum! So that the Community can help you better, we will need to know what model camera you are using. Any other details you'd like to give will only help the Community better understand your issue. If this is an urgent support need, please CLICK HERE to reach our friendly Technical Support Team by phone or email. Thank you!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-22-2017

Re: Convert Images from "SC" to "IMG"

Thank you - we have three actually, and they show ELPH 190 IS on the front. I hope that helps -

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-22-2017

Re: Convert Images from "SC" to "IMG"

Really disappointed - I thought at least someone in a Canon community would have had this happen before and would know what to do. We have very  important Canon pics that we can't even use.  Is there another moderator that might be able to help?  I've requested assistance directly through Canon technicians, also without a response.

Reputable Contributor
Posts: 876
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: Convert Images from "SC" to "IMG"


EnergyGuys wrote:

Really disappointed - I thought at least someone in a Canon community would have had this happen before and would know what to do. We have very  important Canon pics that we can't even use.  Is there another moderator that might be able to help?  I've requested assistance directly through Canon technicians, also without a response.


Sorry EnergyGuys, not really sure how you ended up with *.sc files...there are no such things in a Canon camera.  Can you still view the pictures in camera?  My guess would be no.

 

It appears that the SD card somehow is corrupted.  This might happen if you removed the card while the camera or the computer is still reading/writing from/to it.  You might want to contact the SD card manufacturer...they might have software that can fix and recover the files.  Riskier but you can also search the internet and download similar software.  I did this to recover a portable hard drive I corrupted, with great success.

 

Best of luck to you and sorry about your trouble...it's a maddening feeling to lose precious memories like this...Hope you can recover the files. 

================================================
Diverhank's photos on Flickr
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Convert Images from "SC" to "IMG"

He is not having a problem with *.sc files but SC*.* files.

 

I also suspect a corrupt memory card. How Often do you format the card in the camera?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-22-2017

Re: Convert Images from "SC" to "IMG"

Yes, you're right. Originally, the pics didn't even appear on the card, so when I used Recuva to see what was actually on the card, they are on there as jpegs, ex. _SC04284.jpg.  I noticed that when I've used Recuva in the past, it always eliminates the first letter, such as _MG01234.jpg. I thought that if I knew what the first letter was supposed to be, I could try adding that and seeing if it will open that way, but I don't know what the missing letter is!  It's a mess all the way around, but it may be the card, since we use them every day, it may be worn out  I just hate that it happened on that day. I'll see what I can do about contacting the card manufacturer and we'll go from there. I just didn't want it to happen again, so I may just get new cards, and cycle them out every several months or so. Thank you both for your help.  I appreciate it!

Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,983
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: Convert Images from "SC" to "IMG"

How often do you format your cards in the camera?

Honored Contributor
Posts: 5,485
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: Convert Images from "SC" to "IMG"


EnergyGuys wrote:

Yes, you're right. Originally, the pics didn't even appear on the card, so when I used Recuva to see what was actually on the card, they are on there as jpegs, ex. _SC04284.jpg.  I noticed that when I've used Recuva in the past, it always eliminates the first letter, such as _MG01234.jpg. I thought that if I knew what the first letter was supposed to be, I could try adding that and seeing if it will open that way, but I don't know what the missing letter is!  It's a mess all the way around, but it may be the card, since we use them every day, it may be worn out  I just hate that it happened on that day. I'll see what I can do about contacting the card manufacturer and we'll go from there. I just didn't want it to happen again, so I may just get new cards, and cycle them out every several months or so. Thank you both for your help.  I appreciate it!


The missing letter is a result of your camera being set to use the Adobe Color Profile, instead of sRGB.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-22-2017

Re: Convert Images from "SC" to "IMG"

Thank you - but typically the images are saved on the camera card as "IMG_1234.jpg, and this time they didn't save on the card at all.  I only found them after I ran Recuva, then they came over as _SC0123.jpg.  I need to know how they can be converted or changed to IMG, if possible, since they won't open as they are. I tried adding a "D" in front, I tried taking out the "0" and changing it to an _, and nothing works. I think they're corrupted. I need to reformat the card again before taking additional pix, but just trying to open what I have. So far no luck.  Thanks-

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement