Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-18-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

No, I didn't

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-03-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Thank you so much! 

 

I was not able to scan on my Canon Imageclass MF4150 after I upgraded to Windows 10 this morning.  I immediately tried to remove/back out this upgrade, but that had its own issues.  This Canon is a workhorse.  I use it to scan and print regularly for work and quickly regretted upgrading to Windows 10.   I thought I would have to purchase a new machine.

 

This solution you proposed has resolved my problem.  Thank you again! 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-03-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

This was in response to the solution offered by Piers_A on 08/19/15.
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-04-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Yup this works.   Windows 10 auto-detected my Canon D420 and installed a Windows driver, but Windows Scan could not detect the scanner.   Be sure to remove your printer/scanner in Devices and Printers, disconnect the printer/scanner cable and then go to Canon's site to get their driver.   Install the driver and when prompted connect the device to the computer.   Your device will be installed automatically.   Now run Windows Scan and bingo.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-22-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

yes, it will scan using windows fax and scan, but it will not install the toolbox, therefore not allowing you to scan to a PDF file. I also have the D420, and the tool box will not install, period.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-09-2015

Canon should release a fix. Period.

Windows 10 was release in July! We're in October and still no fix from Canon.

Come on Canon!!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-04-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

 

The Windows app "Scan" has a pull down to select the file type. Seven to choose from and for me PDF is one of them.

 

Is it possible for there to be so much difference between my MF4770N and other models?

 

I also use the toolbox with my windows 10 installation- I only know about the "Scan" app because I found it along the route to getting the toolbox to work. But the Toolbox works for me.

 

As far as Canon issuing a fix...I think they think they already have, and I think they don't read these forum posts. 

 

Best of luck.

 

Steve

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-22-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

I have the D420, and there is a pull down.  Except that there are only 4 types of files to choose from;  BMP, JPG, PNG, AND TIF.

 

There are a multitude of differences between scanners.  Canon can fix the install of the toolbox on some models of scanners, but  on others, it says the problem belongs to Microsoft, and the computer manufacturer, which is in my case, HP.  So Canon has done all it will for people with the D420, as of right now.  But, Canon is still selling the D420, and it  has the same issures. I can get my scans to a PDF file, but not through my Canon Scanner.  People that buy a new D420 will not get a toolbox, therefore, they will not miss it.  (Canons' theory and business model, in my opinion)

 

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-09-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Finally resolved!

1. Uninstall the drivers and MF Toolbox

2. Download and install drivers and Toolbox from here: http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/support/consumer/printers_multifunction/imageclass_series/imageclass_m...

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-03-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Thanks.  My model's links are different, but the new software appears to work.

 

https://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/support/consumer/printers_multifunction/imageclass_series/imageclass_...

 

Also, to get the old toolbox uninstalled, I had to reboot into safe mode.  Otherwise the uninstaller just hung.  Then booted back into regular mode, removed all traces of the existing printer, then reinstalled the new software and it works great.

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement