Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-15-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Sorry, but just like with every other "quick and easy solution", this one also fails.  Since converting over to windows 10, my imageclass MF229dx does not communicate with my computer for scan functions.  Prints fine, but cannot be found by the computer.

 

Even 2 hours on canon support could not help.  Of course they blamed it on Windows and told me that they have not had this problem....until I saw this forum and see that it is universal.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-19-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10 (Canon Community Subscription Update)

VueScan works. has a trial version. mf tool bx wrks in my w10 but not w7. no help from canon.
 
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-16-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Too bad it didnt work for you. I had same prob. Couldn't scan, computer wouldnt recognize, but could print ok.

I have imageclass something. Not sure, I not very computer literate. GREAT printer machine tho, so I glad its all fixed for me.

I did just like the guy said and voila!

**bleep**, gotta love it when that happens!

Good luck to you.

It is dissapointing that Canon is not backing up their product....

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-07-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Like I mentioned earlier the fix worked for me.

Windows 10 did an automatic update on my PC yesterday and it caused the scan function to fail again on my printer .  The update reset the defaults in the WIA. I used your (captrep) instructions and the scanner worked again.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-07-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

What is 'preview scan?'

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-16-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Good to know that about update. I will have to watch for that!
I don't scan alot so I may have forgotten! Now I will keep that in mind.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-16-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

I think it just lets you see what the image looks like before you save it.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-07-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

The update was a huge one. It took 20 - 30 minutes, showed the circle with percentage completed and rebooted several times. Its possible that a small update would not effect the scan function.

New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-15-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Thanks a bunch - this worked for me! When I went to try to scan, MF Toolbox would freeze up and not do anything.  I tried uninstalling and reinstalling to no avail.

 

I went in and deleted the entire driver folder under the Windows / Twain_32 folder.  It's not easy to find the folder so I searched for Twain_32 and it came up.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-16-2015

Re: MF Toolbox doesn't work on Windows 10

Yikes, huge update !!! Thats usu when things go wrong!!! I like to wait a few days at least after a major update before I do it myself in case it causes probs and then it gives Microsoft a chance to work the bugs out of their updates.

Is there a place where you can report issues to microsoft regarding win 10 probs/conflicts(like this printer issue)? and if so, do they listen?

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement