Canon Community Canon Community
 


Reply
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,541
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: error message on canon 1d III on sigma 500mm F4.5

"Any one know what a interupter is?"

 

Not really but apparently you need one!

A lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,565
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: error message on canon 1d III on sigma 500mm F4.5

You should ask Sigma what the part is. It sounds like a fancy name for a relay circuit assembly to me. You should be more worried about the disclaimer at the end. The one that reads, "REPAIR IS SUBJECT TO AVAILABILITY OF PARTS". I surprised the bill is as low as it is, to be perfectly honest with you.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,660
Registered: ‎02-17-2016

Re: error message on canon 1d III on sigma 500mm F4.5

WAG, but it could be something like this:

https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9299

 

And the "reset" means it is used to tell the steppers/position system where "home" is. If it is not working right the home position could move back and forth a bit.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎01-20-2016

Re: error message on canon 1d III on sigma 500mm F4.5

hello sigma said this

 

Morning Paul,

 

Thanks for your email.

 

The interrupter is a part in the lens that connect to the circuit and controls the iris.  Unfortunately it requires a full strip down of the lens which takes a lot of labour time.  Because of this we are unable to reduce the estimate.

 

We can include replacing the contact block in the charge.

 

Kind Regards

 

Chris Bibby

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎01-20-2016

Re: error message on canon 1d III on sigma 500mm F4.5

so this lens would have cost the following.

 

£800  low offer i made on ebay suprized it got accepted

 

£127 ups delivery

 

£272 import and vat duty

 

£229 sigma repair bill

 

total £1428

total $1791

Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,565
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: error message on canon 1d III on sigma 500mm F4.5


paulbrogden10 wrote:

so this lens would have cost the following.

 

£800  low offer i made on ebay suprized it got accepted

 

£127 ups delivery

 

£272 import and vat duty

 

£229 sigma repair bill

 

total £1428

total $1791


I still say that your repair bill is surprisingly low.  You've come this far, so don't turn back now.  Let Sigma fix it, including the contacts, which they seem willing to toss in for free.  What are you thinking about?  You're getting a $5000 lens.  Most used lenses of that type sell for at least three times what you initially paid.  This is an easy decision to make, IMHO.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Honored Contributor
Posts: 7,541
Registered: ‎12-07-2012

Re: error message on canon 1d III on sigma 500mm F4.5

"£800  low offer i made on ebay suprized it got accepted"

 

Looks like you have two !  A broken one and a working one ?

A lot of Canon stuff. Along with, a lot of other stuff.
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎01-20-2016

Re: error message on canon 1d III on sigma 500mm F4.5

dont think the lens is worth $5000

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 4,565
Registered: ‎08-13-2015

Re: error message on canon 1d III on sigma 500mm F4.5

[ Edited ]

paulbrogden10 wrote:

dont think the lens is worth $5000


???  Where did you get that idea from?  I don't think so, either.  Didn't say it was.  I said similar lenses are asking for 2-3 times what you paid.  In fact, bad contacts and malfunctions aside, I don't think your lens is worth what you bid for it.  

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"I don't rent software. I use Photoshop CS6, ACR 9.8 and Lightroom 6.8 ."
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎01-20-2016

Re: error message on canon 1d III on sigma 500mm F4.5

[ Edited ]

Hello all I got the lens back from sigma paid the repair bill the lens seems to work on the 1dmkIII with no issues. Orginally sigma came back to me and said after looking at it they could just repair the contact block for around £61 but I asked for the lens to be cleaned as this made sense to get it serviced. so the cost was £229 under their tarriff 9 of £229.99. By the way its interesting to know this lens weighs the same as the sigma 150-600 sport lens. 

powered by Lithium

LIKE US on Facebook FOLLOW US on Twitter WATCH US on YouTube CONNECT WITH US on Linkedin WATCH US on Vimeo FOLLOW US on Instagram SHOP CANON at the Canon Online Store
© Canon U.S.A., Inc.   |    Terms of Use   |    Privacy Statement