cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

broken aperture iris

bella32600
Apprentice

I recently purchased a rebel t5, and unfortunately it was dropped. Everything seemed to be working fine until I started playing with the aperture and notcied there was little difference whether I set it at 5.6 or 10. I took a closer look inside the lens, and realized the aperture iris doesn't move, and appeared to be in peices and not functioning. 

Is this repair just going to be wayyyy too much? Would it make sense just to buy a whole new lense? 

Thanks! 

3 REPLIES 3

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Which lens?

If it is the kit 18-55, get a new one, if the old one was the old USM version, the new STM's are better.

ebiggs1
Legend
Legend

Any lens that came with a T5 kit is not a good candidate for repair.

EB
EOS 1DX and 1D Mk IV and less lenses then before!

@bella32600 wrote:

I recently purchased a rebel t5, and unfortunately it was dropped. Everything seemed to be working fine until I started playing with the aperture and notcied there was little difference whether I set it at 5.6 or 10. I took a closer look inside the lens, and realized the aperture iris doesn't move, and appeared to be in peices and not functioning. 

Is this repair just going to be wayyyy too much? Would it make sense just to buy a whole new lense? 

Thanks!