cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wanting more zoom...

inkjunkie
Enthusiast
I have an EF 70-200 f/2.8L lens that will be on a 5D Mark IV body. I realize the I can use this lens with either of the Extenders, the version II if I remember correctly. Have read that this will choke back the Aperture some. One of the things I will be doing with my gear is taking pictures at the local race track, many times at night. The track does have lights but last year when I was using one of my old lenses with an aperture of f/5.6 the pictures were far from stellar. Hoping to find a 300mm, or longer, in the f/2.8 area. Does such a lens even exist? Thanks to our ISP pretty much shutting down at 4p.m. not having much luck searching.
Thanks in advance for any help
13 REPLIES 13

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Canon makes both a 300mm/F2.8 and a 400mm/F2.8, but they ain't cheap.

I am new to the hobby and have a Rebel T-6. Is the new Tamron 180400 lens compatable with my camera and will it work with my auto settings ? We are going on a trip to Australia next year and I didn't want to take a lot of lens. I am still learing the camera so the Auto settings really are a blessing. 

My friend has the previous version of the Canon 300mm f/2.8 lens and I am always amazed by the shots he gets with it. Beautiful big white lens. 

Scott

Canon 5d mk 4, Canon 6D, EF 70-200mm L f/2.8 IS mk2; EF 16-35 f/2.8 L mk. III; Sigma 35mm f/1.4 "Art" EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro; EF 85mm f/1.8; EF 1.4x extender mk. 3; EF 24-105 f/4 L; EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS; 3x Phottix Mitros+ speedlites

Why do so many people say "FER-tographer"? Do they take "fertographs"?

@Hippo69 wrote:

I am new to the hobby and have a Rebel T-6. Is the new Tamron 180400 lens compatable with my camera and will it work with my auto settings ? We are going on a trip to Australia next year and I didn't want to take a lot of lens. I am still learing the camera so the Auto settings really are a blessing. 

Greetings,