cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Telephoto Lens for General Sports Photgraphy

adam612
Apprentice

Hi -

Former wedding and event videographer here, so I have a decent eye for composition etc but I'm relatively new to the world of manual settings while taking still photos. The middle school where I teach finally bought me a camera (Rebel T6) to use for taking pics of sports and other afterschool activities. 

I'm not taking the photos to sell or display to parents, but instead to be the B-roll in news videos some of my students create.  (For example,  8 pics of the ski club will be displayed - and set to music - during the 60 second story about the ski club.) 

I'm going to buy a lens myself rather than wait a year and hope the budget gets approved.  Need a zoom lens for shooting sports.  Fall and spring are outside; winter is inside.  Like 12 different sports.  I have more access than a parent would  - I can get right up to the edge of the field/court - and I can move around. 

I'm looking for the subjects to appear closer without breaking the bank.  And I'm willing to use a monopod. 

Combing through these threads, I narrowed it down to the EF-S 55-250 IS STM or the EF 75-300.  From what I can tell, the former is a better lens and has image stablization, while the latter would zoom in more? Having never used one of these lenses it's hard to judge how much farther the image would appear by only having 250 mm zoom vs. 300. 

Would love to hear some thoughts on the matter. 

Also, is buying a certified refurbished lens bad? I've done with computers and had no problems.

Thanks in advance. 

5 REPLIES 5

kvbarkley
VIP
VIP

Canon refurbished is great.

I would consider the 70-300 II instead of the 75-300. (I don't know which posts you read, but I have *never* seen a recommendation (other than to throw it away) for the 75-300.) I have the older 70-300 and it works really well.