Rebel T6 Telephoto Options Advice

EddM
Contributor

New to the Community.

Have the Rebel T6 and 3 lens:

• EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II
  • EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III, and
  • EF 28-90mm f/4-5.6

I would like to do wildlife/bird and othe longer distance photography with a 500mm plus lens.

I am a hobbyist/amateur and really cannot afford the pricey Canon lens in that 500mm range.

Am I better of to buy something like a:

• Canon Extender EF 2x Auto Focus
  • Viltrox C-AF 2X Teleplus/Yongnuo YN-2.0X II Teleconverter or similar
  • or even the Canon 1.4x EF Extender III Lens and Teleconverter

to use with the EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III

or

Buy an inexpensive manual focus only 500mm like the:

• Oshiro 500mm f/6.3 (T-Mount with Adaptor)
  • Opteka/Bower/Vivitar 500mm f/8 (T-Mount with Adaptor)

I know you get what you pay for and all but would appreciate feedback, thoughts, recommendations.

23 REPLIES 23

@EddM wrote:

Want to thank everyone for the input and advice.

DSLR is new to me as I shot 35mm film in the past and got away from it.

The teleconvertors are obviously out.

Will look at some of the recommended other lens.

Might still think about the non-mirror 500mm manual focus as that doesn't bother me as I shot a lot of 35mm film manual for years.

As I look at some things might reach out again for input.

Edd M.

If you're looking at one of the 500mm lenses, that is long like a telescope, then be advised that the tripod foot on most of them is not very stable.  There is too much wobble and play, even after you lock it down, because of the high moment of inertia caused by the camera body being so far away from the center of the tripod.

Without a very robust tripod, the off-center load will quickly destabilize your average tripod/head combo.  And, with 500mm on an APS-C sensor, you are going to need some type of support.

--------------------------------------------------------
"The right mouse button is your friend."